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Manufactured Structures Section 
 

2008 Legislation Effecting Manufactured Housing 
 

The 2008 Minnesota Legislature passed legislation that impacts the manufactured 
housing industry, licensing manufactured home installers, and the installation of 
manufactured homes. 
 
Installer license renewal  

• Manufactured home installer license renewal: Licenses issued or renewed after 
December 31, 2008, shall have a renewal period of three years. (MS 326.97 
subdivision 1 a) 

• Manufactured home installer licensing fees shall be $300 for the three period. 
(MS 326.86 subdivision 1) 

 
Manufactured home licensed installers and plumbing connections 

• Manufactured home installers licensed as per licensing section 326.84 
subdivision 1 and manufactured home installer as defined in section 327.31 
subdivision 11, are not required to be licensed in accordance with sections 
326B.42 to 326B.49 when connecting the exterior building drain sewer outlets to 
the above ground building sewer system and when connecting the exterior water 
line to the above ground water system to the manufactured home as described in 
the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act of 
1974, US Code, title 42, section 5401 et seq. No additional licensure, bond, or 
insurance related to the scope of work permitted under this subdivision may be 
required of a licensed manufactured home installer by any unit of government. 

 
Retention of licensing manufactured home dealer’s records 

• Licensed manufactured home dealers shall maintain for five (5) years copies of 
all listings, deposit receipts, credit applications, contracts, disclosure forms, 
concealed checks, trust account records, and other documents reasonably 
related to carrying on the business of a dealer. This will include the records for 
installation of the manufactured home when included in the contract by the dealer 
or a dealers agents.  Effective date for change August 1, 2008. (MS 327B.06 
subdivision 1) 

 
Parking of a complying manufactured home within the state 

• No person may sell, offer for sale, or install for occupancy a manufactured home 
manufactured after July 1, 1972, which contains a manufactured home 
construction standards violation. The change to MS 327.32 subdivision 1, allows 
a home constructed after July 1, 1972, containing a construction code violation to 
be parked within the state if not being sold, offered for sale, or installed for 
occupancy. Effective date of change August 1, 2008. 

This information can be provided to you in alternative formats (Braille, large print or audio tape). 
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Fees for seals for installation, and replacement construction labels 
• Fees for installation seals and replacement construction labels were relocated 

from Minnesota State Building Code, Chapter 1350.6500 to MS 327.33 
subdivisions 2a through 2e.  Effective date of changes July 1, 2008. 

• MS 327.33 subdivision 2b changed from requiring separate support and 
anchoring seals at $8 per seal to one inclusive installation seal at $80 per seal. 
Mandated changes to Federal Standards for installation require inspection of all 
manufactured home installations. Required changes to pricing of seals to include 
initial inspection costs incurred by the State in areas of Minnesota that do not 
enforce the building codes. Municipalities adopting in and enforcing the state 
building code may charge permit fees for required inspection of manufactured 
home installation within the jurisdiction. 

 
 
 
 


