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OFFICE MEMORANDUM

DATE: October 17, 2011 (revised from August 1, 2011)

TO: Licensed Manufactured Home Installers, Dealers, Manufacturers and
Building Officials

FROM: Construction Codes & Licensing Division
PHONE: 651-284-5092

SUBJECT: 2011 Session law changes affecting manufactured home installation

2011 session law changes to Minnesota Statutes (MS) 327.32 and 327.33 will allow for
changes in the Minnesota installation program, currently approved by HUD, in compliance
with HUD Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 3285 and 3286. The following changes
should be used in conjunction with other existing laws and rules for manufactured home
installation inspection as outlined in Bulletin #43 of March 11, 2011.

1. Used manufactured homes (single and multi-section) may be installed without frost
depth footings even if frost depth footings were required in the manufacturer’s
installation manual. A “used manufactured home” defined in MS 327.31, Subd. 21.
means a home being offered for sale not less than 24 months after the first purchaser
took legal ownership or possession of the home.

e The purchaser of the used home must sign the form indicating they have made the
choice not to have the home installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s
approved installation procedures or another frost depth footing design.

e The seller must explain what it means to not install the home on frost depth
footings and possible effects of frost movement on the manufactured home.

e If the exemption is used, the remaining manufacturer’s instructions must still be
followed including the grading under and away from the home. When top or sub-
soils located beneath the home are compressible or shifting (organics or high clay
content) they shall be removed to a depth and width sufficient to assure stable
moisture content and shall not be used as fill.



Municipalities which have adopted the Minnesota State Building Code may provide
installation inspection and plan review services to non-code areas of the state for both
new HUD labeled homes and used manufactured/mobile homes by their Minnesota
certified building official.

e Minnesota certified building officials reviewing plans for installation of homes or
“alternate foundation systems” are required to review the plans in accordance with
the one of the following;

a. Manufacturer’s DAPIA approved installation manual instructions;

b. Design by a licensed Minnesota engineer or architect;

c. HUD CFR 3285; or

d. Minnesota State Building and 2006 IRC requirements.

Note: If a used home as defined in 327.32 Subd.le is being reinstalled without a
frost-protected foundation in accordance with a signed notice requirement, it shall
be reviewed in accordance with Minnesota Rules chapter 1350, the standards
referenced therein (including the manufacture’s installation instructions) and the
notice requirements of 327.32 Subd.1f.

e Plans for the installation of an alternative frost-free design slab as permitted in
327.32 Subd.1b, shall be reviewed, and if no corrections are necessary, a permit is
required to be issued within 10 days of being received by the approving authority.

e Municipal building officials reviewing plans or inspecting installations outside
their municipality for jurisdictions which have not adopted the MSBC may charge
fees only in accordance with fees adopted by the municipality per MSBC
1300.0160. Third party inspectors may charge their usual and normal charges for
review of plans and inspections.

As is currently required in the approved Minnesota program, dealers and installers of
record (licensed installer or homeowner) must submit a Notice of Sale (NOS)
indicating where the home will be located for occupancy and the approximate date of
installation.

e When submitting the NOS, indicate the name of the installation plan reviewer and
inspector if other than CCLD staff. CCLD staff will track and monitor various
installation inspections and plan reviews throughout the state.

e Upon completion of the installation and inspection, a licensed installer shall place
a Minnesota installation label and complete and return an installation certificate
for every home installation in Minnesota.



