Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Minnesota OSHA Compliance -- CHASE Minnesota partnerships

CHASE Minnesota programThe Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) implemented a major safety-initiative in 2003 that is designed to reduce the number of injuries, illnesses and fatalities at participant construction industry employers. The partnership was revised in 2012 and the initiative -- Construction Health and Safety Excellence (CHASE) Minnesota -- was jointly agreed by Associated General Contractors of Minnesota and Minnesota OSHA.

The specific goals of CHASE Minnesota
To reduce by 3 percent annually (see MNOSHA's strategic plan) the number of injuries, illnesses and fatalities affecting participant employers, with a focus on eliminating injuries and fatalities resulting from those hazards that are the four leading causes of death on construction sites (falls, struck-by, caught in or between, and electrocutions).
To increase the number of construction contractors that implement effective safety and health programs and provide effective safety and health training for management, supervisors and employees.
To recognize those contractors where managers and employees work together to develop safety and health management systems that go beyond basic compliance with all applicable OSHA standards and result in immediate and long-term prevention of job-related injuries and illnesses.
To promote open lines of communication between MNOSHA and the construction industry in pursuit of safety.

The partnership charter acknowledges the importance of providing a safe, healthful work environment in construction and seeks a working relationship that creates mutual trust and respect among all parties, including project owners and construction workers, involved in the construction process.

The three award levels of CHASE Minnesota participation are:

  • Level 1 -- the basic level, for applicants wanting to meet the basic minimum requirements of a safety and health program;

  • Level 2 -- the intermediate level, for applicants desiring a more comprehensive safety and health program; and

  • Level 3 -- the peak level, for applicants striving to be an industry leader with a very comprehensive safety and health program.

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer