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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 This study was conducted by the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) pursuant to a 
directive from the Minnesota Legislature. DLI’s charge was to study various aspects of the 
workers’ compensation carrier and health care provider reimbursement system, including 
potential reforms and barriers. 
 
 DLI surveyed hospitals, ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs), insurance companies and 
self-insured employers to obtain data regarding the reimbursement system. DLI requested 
information about:  bill submission; the timeliness of payments; the amount of charges and 
payments for certain procedures common in workers’ compensation; the price and mark-up of 
surgical implants; the number and type of disputes; and the costs related to the billing, collection 
and payment of medical bills. 
 
 The data provided was analyzed and summarized by DLI staff members. That data, 
together with findings from other studies relevant to the payment of workers’ compensation 
medical costs, is discussed in this report. DLI’s findings include the following. 
 
               Hospitals received an average of 3 percent to 35 percent more from workers’ 
compensation payers than they did from commercial health insurers for performing the same, 
inpatient procedures. ASCs received an average of 32 percent more. 
 
  Hospitals generally refused to provide information about the amounts they marked-up 
surgical implants; insurance company-supplied documents revealed mark-ups of up to 500 
percent. 
 
  Electronic transmission and payment of medical bills has been slow to take hold in 
Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system. 
 
  Bill-reviewers are the largest cost component of insurers’ workers’ compensation 
medical payment system. 
 
  Insurers reported a relatively small number of the payments they made for medical bills 
were disputed. However, hospitals reported they disputed the amount of payment on more than 
half of their bills for inpatient treatment. 
 
  Hospitals reported that only 14 percent of their nondisputed inpatient bills were paid 
within 30 days; insurers reported paying 95 percent of all nondisputed hospital inpatient bills 
within 30 days. 
 
 DLI could not reconcile some of the data provided by hospitals, insurers and ASCs. It 
was clear from the data, however, that Minnesota’s approach to paying workers’ compensation 
medical costs does not provide any control over services not covered by a fee schedule. 
Minnesota’s current system:  incentivizes higher medical charges; results in higher costs to 
payers because of line-by-line bill review; creates delays in payment; and creates an 
environment ripe for disputes. 
 
 Possible reforms are discussed in the report, including changing Minnesota’s workers’ 
compensation medical cost reimbursement system to one where providers are paid according to 
diagnosis and patient characteristics rather than charges. Potential barriers to suggested 
reforms are also presented. 
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INTRODUCTION 
 
 This study was conducted pursuant to 2013 Minnesota Laws 377, which directed the 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) to “study the effectiveness and costs of 
potential reforms and barriers within the workers’ compensation carrier and health care provider 
system, including, but not limited to, carrier administrative costs, prompt payment, uniform claim 
components,1 and the effect on provider reimbursements and injured worker copayments of 
implementing the subjects studied.” 
 

Medical benefits represent the single largest cost component of Minnesota’s workers’ 
compensation system.2 In 2011, medical payments totaled $524 million, accounting for 56 
percent of Minnesota workers’ compensation payments, with the remaining 44 percent 
representing indemnity benefit payments to injured workers.3 Medical costs rose rapidly 
between 1997 and 2003, and then more slowly from 2003 to 2010.4 Overall, average medical 
benefits were up 111 percent in 2010 relative to 1997.5 Appendix A discusses in greater detail 
recent trends in Minnesota’s workers’ compensation medical costs. 

 
 Prior to commencing the study, DLI met with stakeholders to obtain input and 
information relevant to the study. Among others, DLI met with medical clinics, physicians, 
hospitals, ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs), radiology facilities, chiropractors, insurance 
companies and physical therapists. DLI recognized the scope of the study had to be restricted 
to provide meaningful results within the mandated time frame. Accordingly, this study is focused 
on medical services that are not covered by a fee schedule – specifically, hospital inpatient 
services and certain outpatient services provided by hospitals and ASCs. In addition, data was 
specifically requested regarding surgical implants, because their reimbursement has been a 
significant source of contention between providers and payers. 
 

DLI sent survey questionnaires to 24 hospitals, 20 ASCs, 20 workers’ compensation 
insurance carriers and 20 self-insured employers to gather data for the study.6 The department 
received responses from 73 percent of all recipients. Appendix B describes the survey 
procedure; Appendix C includes the survey questionnaires. Unless otherwise noted, the data 
referenced in this report was collected in response to the questionnaires. 

 
 Three significant aspects of the workers’ compensation carrier and health care provider 
system are discussed in the report:  (1) the billing and payment mechanisms used by providers 
and payers; (2) the costs resulting from disputes or “friction” between providers and payers; and 
(3) the statutory methodology by which reimbursements for medical care are made. The 
discussion includes a general analysis of the impact each area has on costs within the workers’ 
compensation system. The report then discusses potential cost containment reforms and 
identifies some of the barriers to implementing those reforms. 
 

                                                      
1Because Minnesota Statutes section 176.135, subd. 7, currently mandates uniform claim components in the transmission 
of electronic medical billing (which is also mandated but not consistently implemented, as discussed elsewhere in this 
report), DLI did not further study the creation of uniform claim components. 
2Minnesota Workers’ Compensation System Report, 2011. 
3 Id; note the amount of indemnity benefits includes vocational rehabilitation benefits. 
4Id. 
5Id. 
6When the terms “payers,” “insurers” and “insurance companies” are used in this report, they refer to both insurance 
companies and self-insured employers unless the context indicates otherwise. 
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REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY 
 
Background – current reimbursement system7 

 Medical providers serving injured workers in Minnesota are generally reimbursed for 
their services in one of two ways – pursuant to a fee schedule8 or based on the provider’s “usual 
and customary” charges. A fee schedule establishes a payer’s maximum liability for specific 
medical services, articles and supplies. Fee schedules generally cover professional and 
diagnostic services, including physician office visits, surgeon services, physical therapy, 
radiology and chiropractic manipulations. 
 
 Medical providers’ usual and customary charge or the prevailing charge9 is the basis for 
reimbursement of all other services, including facility fees10 and inpatient hospital treatment.11 
Minnesota law provides small hospitals – those with 100 or fewer beds – are to be reimbursed 
at 100 percent of their usual and customary charges.12 The fee for all other services that are not 
covered by a fee schedule, including inpatient services provided by hospitals with more than 
100 beds, is 85 percent of the provider’s usual and customary charge or 85 percent of the 
prevailing charge for similar treatment, whichever is lower.13 
 
 There are some fundamental differences between medical care provided through 
workers’ compensation and that provided through other health care systems. For example, 
treatment for work injuries is denied more often than treatment under a group health policy 
based on the workers’ compensation payer’s review about whether the treatment is reasonable, 
necessary and related to the work injury. A more complete discussion of the differences 
between medical care provided under the two systems is attached as Appendix D. 
 
Effects of charge-based reimbursement 
 
 The fee schedule has controlled increases in professional service fees and the greatest 
increases in overall workers’ compensation medical costs have been in inpatient hospital costs 
and certain outpatient charges (which are not subject to a fee schedule). In 2012, DLI retained 
CGI Federal Inc. (CGI) to study reimbursement methodologies used by other states’ workers’ 
compensation and government programs, to identify potential cost-saving alternatives.14 
 

CGI identified several effects of the charge-based reimbursement used in Minnesota’s 
workers’ compensation system for services not covered by a fee schedule. First, and most 
significant, CGI explained charge-based systems provide no control of costs. CGI noted that, 

                                                      
7Much of the material in this section is presented in greater detail in Appendix C. 
8For purposes of this report, the term “fee schedule” includes the formula that applies to pharmacy charges by certain 
medical providers. See Minnesota Rules Part 5221.4070. 
9A “prevailing charge” is the 75th percentile of the usual and customary charges in the previous calendar-year for a 
service, article or supply, provided the database calculating the charge meets specified requirements. See Minnesota Rules 
Part 5221.0500, subp. 2. 
10Facility fees are fees charged by ASCs and hospitals to reimburse them for general costs relating to the use of the 
facility where a procedure is performed or treatment provided. 
11Minnesota Statutes section 176.136, subd. 1b (2013 Supp.). 
12Id. 
13Id. See also, Minnesota Rules Part 5221.0500, subp.2. 
14CGI Federal, Inc., “Report on Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Methodologies” (CGI Report); available at 
www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Pdf/cgi_federal_report2012.pdf. 
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nationwide, hospital charges are three times higher than hospital costs.15 By contrast, payments 
under commercial health insurance or government programs (for example Medicare and 
Medicaid) are limited by negotiated contract or by law. Second, providers have an incentive to 
provide many services – and expensive services – to maximize the amounts charged and paid. 
Third, providers have an incentive in charge-based systems to unbundle services in their billing, 
that is to separate a given service or set of services into as many billed services as possible, 
again to maximize charges and payments. 
 

Charge-based reimbursement also gives rise to line-item bill review. In this practice, 
insurers – usually through contracted bill-reviewers – review billed services to determine 
whether the services actually provided were reasonable and necessary to treat the admitted 
work injury and whether the billed services were properly coded and correctly reflect the 
services actually provided. This bill-review activity adds cost to the system and, as reported by 
CGI, leads to longer claim processing time and more litigation. 
 
Survey results 
 

Reimbursement rates – The DLI survey asked hospitals and ASCs to indicate the 
median payments they received from commercial and workers’ compensation insurers for 
services associated with several specific procedures. Most hospitals refused to answer the 
question. However, the Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) provided aggregate data for five 
large hospitals and hospital systems combined; this data is shown in Table R-1. 

 
MHA provided separate data for payments from large and small commercial insurers.16 

For each medical procedure listed, hospitals received higher payments on average from 
workers’ compensation insurers than from commercial insurers. The average workers’ 

                                                      
15CGI Report, citing Gerard F. Andersen, “From ‘Soak the Rich’ to ‘Soak the Poor’:  Recent Trends in Hospital Pricing,” 
Health Affairs 26:3 (May/June 2007), p.783. 
16For four of five commonly performed inpatient procedures the large commercial insurance payment was substantially 
smaller, on average, than the small commercial payment, presumably because of greater bargaining power on the part of 
large insurers. 

Table R-1
Average payments received by hospitals for facility services
associated with five common inpatient procedures, 2011 [1]

Average payment from -- Workers' compensation
Workers' as percentage of --

Large Small compen- Large Small
commercial commercial sation commercial commercial

Procedure insurers insurers insurers insurers insurers
Apply spine prosthetic device $40,797 $52,326 $50,901 125% 97%
Remove one spine lamina (lumbar) $24,744 $32,866 $35,218 142% 107%
Low back disk surgery $26,668 $35,780 $36,674 138% 102%
Lumbar spine fusion $48,062 $61,279 $61,577 128% 100%
Insert spine fixation device $25,298 $25,130 $30,674 121% 122%

Average [2] 135% 103%

1. Aggregate data supplied by Minnesota Hospital Association in response to question 14 of DLI Cost
Reimbursement Survey.  These numbers are for several hospitals combined.

2. Computed by DLI Research and Statistics as a weighted average of the percentages for the five
procedures.  The weights are the numbers of discharges associated with each procedure.
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compensation payment ranged from 121 to 142 percent of the average large commercial 
payment and from 97 to 122 percent of the average small commercial payment. For the five 
procedures combined, the workers’ compensation payment averaged 135 percent of the 
average large commercial payment and 103 percent of the average small commercial payment. 
 

With respect to ASCs, the average workers’ compensation payment for the 10 most 
common procedures ranged from 62 to 197 percent of the average commercial insurance 
payment, with an overall average of 132 percent of the average commercial insurance payment. 
 

These “premiums” over commercial insurance occurred even though hospitals and 
ASCs reported lower workers’ compensation payments as a percentage of charges than the 85 
and 100 percent rates prescribed by law. 
 

For eight of the top 10 workers’ compensation inpatient and outpatient procedures, 
insurers reported workers’ compensation payments to large hospitals for associated facility 
services ranged from 56 to 72 percent of charges, averaging 66 percent. The estimated charged 
amounts for the procedures for which the MHA provided payment data are set forth below. 
 
 Procedure            WC payment              Estimated WC            Large commercial        Small commercial 
                        charge                      insurer payment          insurer payment 

 
Apply spine prosthetic device  $50,901                    $77,123             $40,797                          $52,326 
Remove one spine lamina (lumbar)   35,218                        53,360                              24,744                            32,866 
Low back disk surgery    36,674                        55,566                              26,668                            35,780  
Lumbar spine fusion    61,577                        93,298                              48,062                             61,279 
Insert spine fixation device    30,674                        46,476                              25,298                     25,130 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 Because the specific payment amounts from commercial health insurers are typically 
specified in the contracts between them and medical providers, the “charged” amount of a 
service or procedure has little relevance in that context. The charged amount is critical in the 
workers’ compensation non-fee-scheduled system, however, because payments are based on a 
percentage of the charge. The likely reason actual payments to hospitals are less than 85 to 
100 percent is because insurers deny payment on some line-item charges through their bill-
review process, because the charged rate may be higher than the prevailing charge and 
because some services are denied as unnecessary or unrelated to the injury. 
 

For ASC facility services for the 10 most common workers’ compensation procedures, 
reimbursement was also less than the statutorily prescribed percentages. They averaged 76 
percent and ranged from 70 to 82 percent of charges. 
 

Implant mark-ups – In its study, CGI found Minnesota was one of only two of the 
studied states that place no limits on the mark-ups hospitals and ASCs may charge for implants. 
Implanted medical devices can be anything from orthopedic support rods and screws to artificial 
intervertebral discs or medication pumps. The hospital or ASC where the surgery is performed 
typically purchases the implant from the manufacturer or a supplier, which delivers the implant 
to the hospital, sometimes at the precise time of surgery. The hospital or ASC usually bills for 
the implant by adding a substantial mark-up to its cost for the device. 
 

While the majority of hospitals surveyed refused to provide information regarding the 
amount of mark-ups for implants, the five that did disclosed mark-ups of up to 200 percent. 
Information provided to DLI by insurers revealed even higher mark-ups – up to 500 percent in at 
least one case. In that case, a Minnesota hospital billed the insurer $9,932 for an implant that 
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cost $1,653, effectively charging the workers’ compensation system six times the hospital’s 
actual cost. 

Only eight of the ASCs responded to this question; respondents indicated a 55 percent 
median mark-up for implanted surgical devices. 

PAYMENT MECHANICS 

Background 
 
 The workers’ compensation medical payment system is regulated by statute and rule. 
Providers and payers are required to follow specific rules regarding the form, content and 
submission of bills and remittance advice, and the timing of payment. 
 
 In 2007, the Minnesota Legislature enacted Minnesota Statutes section 62J.536 
mandating all health care services billing and remittance advice transactions in Minnesota, 
including those for workers’ compensation, be in an electronic format. The required electronic 
billing and remittance transactions (collectively referred to as “e-billing”) were required to be 
implemented according to a phased-in schedule to make the transition from paper billings and 
remittance advices as easy as possible. Specific deadlines were established by which:  health 
care bills were to be submitted to the payers electronically (the standard electronic format 
medical bill is known as the ANSI X12 837 or “837”); health care payment and remittance advice 
transactions (the electronic remittance advice is known as the ANSI X12 835 or “835”) were to 
be submitted to the providers electronically; and payers were required to return an electronic 
acknowledgment to the provider confirming the provider’s 837 had been received (the most 
commonly used electronic claim acknowledgement transaction is known as the 277CA or 
“277”). 

 
These e-billing reforms were meant to make the billing and payment process more time-

efficient and cost-effective for both providers and payers. However, payers and providers have 
been slow to implement the e-billing requirements for workers’ compensation claims. Providers 
say there are several reasons for the delay. They state workers’ compensation medical 
transactions present unique challenges not present in standard health insurance billing 
transactions, most notably the requirement for a medical record “attachment” (medical 
documentation of the nature of the charge and its relationship to the work injury) to accompany 
the actual billing. Also, the system of passing electronic transactions back and forth between 
providers and payers relies on complex relationships between myriad “clearinghouses,” billing 
agents and bill reviewers, resulting in frequent difficulties in establishing functional connectivity. 

 
While there have been difficulties in implementing e-billing in the workers’ compensation 

system, Minnesota is just one of a handful of states to require e-billing for payment of workers’ 
compensation medical bills. DLI is aware of only two other states – California and Texas – that 
have implemented e-billing for payment of workers’-compensation-related medical bills, and 
those states are no further along than Minnesota. That e-billing has not been widely mandated 
in state workers’ compensation systems may be further evidence that there are significant 
challenges with its implementation not present in commercial health insurance systems. 
 
Survey results 

 
Electronic billing – Hospitals responding to the survey reported, on average, only 5 

percent of their bills were transmitted electronically via 837s during 2012. ASCs reported 6 
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percent of their bills were transmitted electronically during that period. Insurers reported a 
somewhat higher (but still relatively small) percentage of medical bills transmitted to them 
electronically via 837s:  hospital bills led the way at 33 percent received by electronic data 
interchange, while just 22 percent of nonhospital medical bills were received electronically 
during 2012. 

 
Insurers reported they returned an electronic remittance advice via 835 an average of 97 

percent of the time. Hospitals, meanwhile, reported receiving no remittance advices via 835 in 
response to the electronic billings they sent in 2012. 

 
DLI is unable to reconcile the obvious disparity between the insurers' belief they are 

responding with an electronic remittance advice for every electronic billing and the hospitals’ 
assertion they are not getting any electronic remittance advices. 

 
DLI and the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) have been working with payers and 

providers to achieve improved compliance with the e-billing requirements. In 2012 and 2013, 
DLI and MDH issued several corrective action plans designed to improve compliance with the  
e-billing requirements. Since that effort began, several large health care providers have reported 
improved compliance in terms of the numbers of electronic billing transactions being transmitted 
to workers’ compensation payers. In addition, DLI has been advised some clearinghouses have 
begun offering their health care provider clients products that make transmission of the 
electronic attachment more convenient. To speed-up the process of connectivity among 
clearinghouses, MDH, in collaboration with DLI, issued an advisory outlining compliance 
requirements specifically aimed at clearinghouses, in September 2013.17 

 
Related to electronic billing is electronic payment, or electronic funds transfer (EFT). 

Providers have advised DLI that EFT is common in the commercial health insurance industry 
and it creates a number of efficiencies. However, EFT is not mandated in workers’ 
compensation transactions and survey results indicate very few workers’ compensation payers 
use this method of payment. Hospitals and ASCs reported a 1 and 2 percent EFT payment rate, 
respectively. Insurers reported they pay 4 percent of their workers’ compensation medical bills 
via EFT. 
 

Further inquiry is needed to determine why insurers are not using EFT for payment of 
workers’-compensation-related medical bills. 

 
Processing costs – As noted, a charge-based reimbursement system can be expected 

to add to the cost of the billing and payment system, both through increased complexity in billing 
and payment processes and through higher denial and dispute rates. Consequently, the costs of 
both providers and insurers for billing, collecting and paying workers’ compensation claims were 
explored in the survey. 
 
 Insurers reported the total cost of operating their workers’ compensation medical 
payment system was equal to an average of 7 percent of the total medical payments made for 
2011. Of those costs, only 9 percent, on average, were dispute-driven. Most of the cost of  
 
 
 

                                                      
17Available at www.health.state.mn.us/asa/updt7.pdf.  
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running the medical payment system (61 percent) was for outside vendor services, broken down 
as follows: 
 Bill reviewers18    70 percent 
 Benefit managers and TPAs   14 percent 
 Independent medical examiners  12 percent 

Other        5 percent 
 
These figures reveal insurers spent almost 43 percent of their workers’ compensation 

medical payment system costs on bill reviewers. Based on this figure, the estimated workers’ 
compensation systemwide cost of bill reviewers totaled $16.4 million. As is evident, bill review is 
costly, and line-item bill review is a 
direct consequence of Minnesota’s 
charge-based reimbursement 
system. 

 
Hospitals reported the overall 

cost of their billing and collections 
system for workers’ compensation 
inpatient treatment was an average 
of 6 percent of total payments 
received. Of those costs, an average 
of 70 percent (or 4.2 percent of total 
payments) was related to costs 
incurred in resolving disputes that 
arose with the insurer or other payer over payment of the bill. Hospitals also reported their cost 
of transmitting the bills to the payer averaged 1 percent of total inpatient treatment payments.19 
Some of the hospitals commented that workers’ compensation billing and collection costs are 
much higher than for commercial health insurance claims. Several commented that the 
transmission cost per se is not a problem, rather it is the subsequent need for communication 
back and forth that adds major cost and delay in payment. 
 

ASCs reported lower billing and collection costs overall, averaging just 2 percent of 
payments received. Only one of the five responding ASCs reported any dispute-related costs as 
a component of their billing and collection costs, and that was only 1 percent of its total 
processing costs. ASCs, like hospitals, reported their cost of transmitting the bills to the payer 
averaged 1 percent of total payments for workers’ compensation services. 

 
Payment turnaround for nondisputed claims – Minnesota law requires insurers to 

pay, deny or request additional information needed to determine compensability within 30 
calendar-days after a bill is received.20 Insurers were asked to report their turnaround time 
separately for nondisputed hospital inpatient payments and for all nondisputed medical 
payments other than hospital inpatient bills. This includes payments to hospitals for outpatient 
services, doctors, clinics and all other types of medical services. Insurers reported they paid  
95 percent of such claims within 30 days. They further reported that only 1 percent took longer 
                                                      
18Some insurers included clearinghouse costs in this category. 
19This figure represents the expenses hospitals pay to clearinghouses and other vendors, as well as costs of faxing, 
mailing or other costs incurred in transmitting the bill to the payer. 
20If the provider did not submit medical records or reports to substantiate the nature of the charge and its relationship to 
the work injury, the insurer must request the records or reports within the 30-day period and must pay or deny the 
charges within 30 days after the documentation is received. For inpatient services, hospitals are required to submit 
medical records or reports only upon an insurer’s request. Minnesota Rules Part 5221.0700, subp. 2. 
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than 90 days. Insurers reported 88 percent were paid within 30 days and 98 percent were paid 
by the 60-day mark. 
                     
 Hospitals presented a very different perspective on turnaround time for payment of 
inpatient medical bills. They reported that on average, only 14 percent of nondisputed inpatient 
billings were paid within 30 days of billing. They further indicated 43 percent were paid within 60 
days and 35 percent took longer than 90 days. ASCs reported somewhat faster processing 
times, indicating they received payment for 20 percent of their nondisputed bills within 30 days 
and 75 percent within the 60-day mark. Only 5 percent of ASC payments for nondisputed bills 
took longer than 90 days. 
 
 It is difficult to reconcile the disparity between these very different perspectives. Insurers 
report payments are made promptly, while hospitals and ASCs report payment turnaround times 
well in excess of the 30-day statutory standard. 
 
 One possible explanation is hospitals anecdotally complain insurers repeatedly ask for 
additional information, which 
delays their receipt of payment. 
If that is true, insurers could be 
calculating the 30 days from the 
date they receive all requested 
information, whereas hospitals 
are calculating it from the date 
the bill was submitted. 
 
 Prior authorization –
Prior approval of medical 
procedures or treatment is only 
required in limited 
circumstances related to 
extended, passive treatment.21 
Minnesota’s workers’ 
compensation law instead 
requires prior notification for 
surgery and certain other medical procedures.22 Under the prior-notification rule, medical 
providers are required to provide notice of a particular procedure or treatment to the payer at 
least seven working-days in advance. The payer must, within seven working-days, approve or 
deny authorization, request additional information, or request a second opinion or an 
independent medical examination; if it does not object within seven working-days of receiving 
the notification, the procedure or treatment is deemed approved. 
 
 Even though in most cases they only need provide prior notice, hospitals indicate they 
requested prior authorization for 90 percent of their inpatient procedures. They reported such 
requests were approved and paid without dispute 71 percent of the time. In 19 percent of the 
cases, the insurer denied the treatment and the injured worker did not dispute the denial. In 10 
percent of prior-authorization requests, the insurer denied the treatment and the employee 
disputed the denial. 
 

                                                      
21See, e.g. Minnesota Rules Part 5221.6200, subp. 3. 
22See Minnesota Rules Part 5221.6050, subp. 9. 
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 ASCs made a similarly high percentage of prior-authorization requests for their surgical 
procedures, at 86 percent of procedures performed. Of those requests, 91 percent were 
approved by the insurer, 9 percent were denied without the employee disputing the denial and 
only 1 percent was denied by the insurer with the employee disputing the denial. 
 
 Insurers responded to this question on the basis of all medical services billed to them 
(not just surgeries) and reported they received prior-authorization requests for 14 percent of all 
medical services. They reported a similar approval rate of 91 percent for all prior-authorization 
requests. In 5 percent of cases, the service was denied and the employee accepted the denial. 
In 3 percent of cases, the employee contested the denial of the medical services. 
 
 While hospitals and ASCs are allowed to proceed with treatment if they receive no 
response from the insurer or even if authorization is denied,23 it appears hospitals and ASCs are 
not doing so, probably because they do not want to risk not getting paid after they have 
provided the treatment. This creates delay and cost. More importantly, treatment for the injured 
worker is delayed or may not be provided at all. 
 

DISPUTE COSTS 
 
Background 
 
 State law requires employers to pay the costs of reasonable and necessary medical 
treatment to cure or relieve injured workers from the effects of work-related injuries and 
illnesses. However, employers and their insurers are not required to pay for unnecessary or 
excessive treatment or excessive charges for medical services. Disputes about what treatment 
is necessary or whether charges are excessive inevitably arise among the parties. During 2012, 
injured workers filed 5,070 claim petitions, many of which involved medical issues, and injured 
workers and providers filed 2,740 medical requests for assistance.24 
 
 Disputes involving medical treatment reimbursement take many different forms. 
Sometimes the employer and insurer deny the compensability of the injury itself.25 At other 
times the insurer denies the entire medical service on the basis of causation26 or on the basis of 
medical necessity. The dispute may also arise out of the insurer’s reduction of the billed 
amount, sometimes known as re-pricing. Payers can discount a provider’s bill in accordance 
with the fee schedule or other workers’ compensation payment rules. Disputes may also arise 
when the provider believes the payer has misapplied a payment rule. 
 
 Health care providers can resolve reimbursement disputes in one of three ways. Most 
disputes are resolved by the parties simply communicating with one another without resorting to 
litigation. The second approach is for the provider to "tag along" by joining litigation that has 
already been commenced by another party (usually the injured worker). This process is known 
as intervention; a provider will often intervene in existing litigation when the issues in dispute are 
also dispositive of the health care provider’s claims, such as in a dispute about primary liability. 

                                                      
23When an insurer denies authorization, the provider may proceed with the treatment subject to a later determination of 
compensability from the commissioner or a compensation judge, with a limited exception for nonemergency surgery in 
certain cases. See Minnesota Rules Part 5221.6050, subp.9. 
24Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Systems Report, 2011. 
25This is referred to as a denial of primary liability. 
26This describes a situation where there is an admitted injury, but the insurer is taking the position that the treatment at 
issue is for a condition not related to the admitted injury and, therefore, is not reimbursable. 
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The third approach is for the provider to initiate litigation directly when payment for a medical 
service is reduced or denied by the insurer on the basis the treatment was not reasonable and 
necessary or the charge was excessive. 
 
Dispute rate 
 
 To fully evaluate the friction costs arising out of disputes within the workers’ 
compensation medical payment system, DLI defined disputes broadly27 when it asked providers 
and payers about their dispute rate. While the survey results point to a relatively low overall 
dispute rate in connection with medical billing transactions, because there are hundreds of 
thousands of billing transactions, there are many thousands of disputes. 
 
 Insurers reported health care providers disputed the insurer’s nonpayment or the amount 
of payment of 9 percent of medical bills. Of those disputes, insurers reported 4 percent involved 
ASC facility services, 9 percent involved hospital inpatient services, 28 percent involved hospital 
outpatient services and the remaining 58 percent involved all other medical services. 
 
 Hospitals have a relatively high rate of disputes with respect to their inpatient bills. They 
reported that, on average, 35 percent of the injured workers they treated as inpatients during 
2011 had bills that were litigated at DLI or the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH). Some of 
those disputes may have involved the provider and some may have involved only the employee 
and the insurer. 
 
 Hospitals also reported 
that 58 percent of their 
inpatient billings in 2011 
involved a dispute about the 
amount of payment. Most of 
those disputes were resolved 
without litigation at DLI or 
OAH. 
 
 The accompanying 
chart shows the average 
percentages of hospital 
inpatient bills by dispute 
status. Among all inpatient 
bills, 41 percent (or 71 percent 
of disputed bills) were resolved 
without resort to litigation at 
DLI or OAH; these disputes 
were resolved by a phone conversation, by providing additional information or by similar action. 
Hospitals initiated litigation to resolve a payment issue with respect to only 8.5 percent of 
inpatient bills (15 percent of disputed bills) and they participated as intervenors in litigation 
initiated by other parties (usually the injured worker)  with respect to the remaining 8.5 percent 
of inpatient bills. 
 

                                                      
27The survey defined dispute as “any disagreement about a charge or payment that prompted additional communication 
or action, including a phone call, a letter, sending additional information or initiating a legal proceeding.” 

Hospital WC Inpatient Bills
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Hosp. Intervenor
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 ASCs reported a lower dispute-rate; an average of only 3 percent of their patients during 
2011 had bills that were involved in litigation. ASCs disputed nonpayment or the amount of 
payment on 8 percent of their bills in 2011. 
 
 Hospital inpatient services are among the most costly medical procedures, so insurers 
and their bill reviewers undoubtedly look at these charges closely. It follows that the higher 
dispute-rate for inpatient services at hospitals may result from insurers (and their bill reviewers) 
re-pricing hospital inpatient facility charges more aggressively. Insurers reported paying an 
overall weighted average of only 66 percent of billed facility charges for 10 hospital inpatient 
procedures listed in the survey, while ASCs were paid an average of 75 percent of their billed 
facility charges for a similar set of procedures. Regardless of the reason, the fact that the bills of 
more than a third of all hospital inpatients were litigated is concerning. 
 
Payment rate for disputed claims 
 
 Providers can initiate litigation directly against insurers to collect their bills when the 
dispute centers on the excessiveness of the treatment or the billed charge.28 Providers may not 
initiate litigation if the insurer has denied primary liability for the injury or has denied there is a 
causal link between the injury and the billed treatment. Only the injured worker has standing to 
challenge a denial of liability or a causation defense that has been asserted by the insurer. 
 
 Examples of an excessiveness dispute that can be litigated directly by a provider are 
where an insurer (or its bill reviewer) has reduced the payment for a service below what the 
workers’ compensation fee payment rules29 allow or where an insurer has denied payment for a 
service because it exceeded the level, duration or frequency allowed by the workers’ 
compensation treatment parameters.30 Hospitals reported an 82 percent recovery rate when 
they contested a bill reduction by initiating litigation of their own. 
 
 Where an insurer denies a bill on the basis there is no causal connection between the 
injury and the treatment, the provider cannot initiate litigation on its own, but is entitled to submit 
the bill to the injured worker or his or her health insurance carrier. Hospitals reported that in 
cases where the workers’ compensation insurer denied payment for medical services, they 
submitted bills to the patient or a third-party payer (usually the employee’s health insurer) 36 
percent of the time. When bills are submitted to a third-party payer, they are typically paid at a 
lesser rate than the workers’ compensation fee schedule would allow. In that circumstance, a 
provider is entitled to assert a claim for its Spaeth balance31 as an intervenor, if the employee 
has initiated litigation. 
 
 If an employee challenges the insurer’s denial of liability, a provider can also intervene 
for payment of its entire bill if there has been no payment by the employee’s health insurer. 
Hospitals’ reported recovery rate when intervening in pending litigation was somewhat lower 
than their recovery rate in direct litigation, but is still substantial. Hospitals, on average, reported 
a 42 percent recovery rate when they intervened in a proceeding where their entire bill was at 
                                                      
28Providers are prohibited from billing or collecting from the injured worker or any other payer when the insurer denies 
or reduces payment based on an excessive charge or on the basis that the service was unreasonable or unnecessary. 
29The payment rules can be found in Minnesota Rules Parts 5221.0500 to 5221.4070. 
30The treatment parameters are in Minnesota Rules Parts 5221.6050 to 5221.8900. 
31“Spaeth balance” refers to the right of a provider to claim the difference between what it has received from a health 
insurer (because the workers’ compensation insurer denied liability) and what it should have received under the workers’ 
compensation fee schedule for a medical service. This right was established by the case of Spaeth v. Cold Spring Granite 
Co.,56 W.C.D. 136 (W.C.C.A. 1996) aff’d in part, rev’d in part 560 N.W.2d 92 (Minn. 1997). 
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issue, compared to a 74 percent recovery rate when they were intervening only for their Spaeth 
balance. The higher recovery in the latter situation is likely explained on the basis the provider 
had already received a substantial portion of its billing from the health insurer in the Spaeth 
situation. 
 
 Whether the Spaeth decision should be repealed was a topic of much debate during the 
2013 legislative session. Supporters of the repeal argued that because providers were being 
compensated for their services by a commercial health insurer, they should not be entitled to 
additional payment from the workers’ compensation payer. Supporters urged repeal of Spaeth 
as a step toward controlling medical costs. 
 
 Repeal opponents argued that additional administrative work is necessary with workers’ 
compensation cases. Therefore, they say, additional compensation is warranted. Providers 
pointed out they must contact, obtain and share information with the employer and workers’ 
compensation carrier, complete workability forms and respond to requests for updates. 
Providers also asserted workers’ compensation carriers do not provide for electronic claims 
handling,32 do not pay claims promptly and often make multiple requests for the same 
information. They also argued the repeal of Spaeth would adversely impact injured workers who 
would be required to pay copays and deductibles if a provider were restricted to collecting 
payment only from a commercial health insurer. 
 
 In the end, the proposal to repeal Spaeth was withdrawn. 
 
Dispute costs 
 
 Dispute costs figure much more prominently for hospitals’ inpatient billings than for 
ASCs. Hospitals, on average, reported 70 percent of their workers’ compensation billing and 
collection costs for inpatient services were dispute-driven, while ASCs reported no dispute 
costs. Hospitals also reported, on average, their billing and collection cost for workers’ 
compensation inpatient bills amounted to 6 percent of payment received. Consequently, 
dispute-related costs amounted to about 4.2 percent of payments for inpatient facility services. 
 
 Insurers responded that, on average, only 9 percent of their workers’ compensation 
medical payment system costs were dispute-driven (although responses ranged from 0 to 76 
percent). Putting this average in context, insurers also reported their total cost of running their 
workers’ compensation medical payment system amounted to an average of 7 percent of total 
workers’ compensation medical payments made. These answers suggest insurers’ dispute-
related costs amounted to less than 1 percent of payments made for all workers’ compensation 
medical services. 
 

The chart below shows the relative cost levels for the entities surveyed. Information 
provided by hospitals, ASCs, insurers and self-insurers was extrapolated to provide a 
systemwide cost estimate. The combined dispute-costs for the entities surveyed are an 
estimated $5 million annually. The chart also reflects that more than a third of hospital 
processing costs33 are related to disputed claims. 
 
 ASCs reported their dispute-driven costs, and their costs of billing and collecting for 
workers’ compensation medical services, were relatively small. 

                                                      
32As noted elsewhere in this report, the obstacles to e-billing appear to exist for both providers and payers. 
33Processing costs are those costs related to transmitting workers’ compensation bills to the payer. 
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 Insurers were asked to provide information breaking down the components of their total 
medical payment system costs (which includes dispute costs). The two largest vendor cost 
components were bill reviewers, at 70 percent of total medical payment system vendor cost, 
and independent medical examinations (IMEs), at 12 percent. 
 
 Insurers reported 
they obtained IMEs for 4 
percent of their total 
compensable claims in 
2011. The average cost for 
an IME was $2,124. The 
total annual cost for IMEs is 
estimated at $8 million. 
Although IMEs often set the 
stage for disputes about 
medical treatment expense, 
they also set the stage for 
disputes about indemnity 
costs. It is, therefore, difficult 
to attribute all of the cost of 
IMEs to insurers’ medical 
cost dispute expense. And, 
in any event, IMEs do not 
appear to represent a 
significant cost component. 
 
Processing time 
 
 Not surprisingly, hospitals reported it took significantly longer to receive payment for 
disputed medical bills than nondisputed bills. In nondisputed cases, an average of 35 percent of 
billings were still outstanding after 90 days. In contrast, where bills were the subject of a dispute, 
an average of 68 percent were not paid at the 90-day mark. A number of providers volunteered 
that even at 180 days, anywhere from 40 to 55 percent of disputed billings remained unpaid. 
This was especially true in cases where the provider was trying to collect the bill as an 
intervenor; comments indicated that intervenor cases often take six months to a year to resolve. 
One hospital even commented that an estimated 25 percent of its disputed charges remained 
unpaid after a year. 
 
 When asked for the percentage of disputed bills that were paid within 30 days of initial 
billing, insurers and self-insurers responded that 50 percent or more of all disputed medical bills 
were paid within that period. They also reported 33 to 35 percent of all disputed medical bills 
remained unpaid at the 90-day mark. Department researchers question the credibility of these 
figures because it does not seem reasonable that more than half of disputed claims were paid 
within 30 days. It is suspected some respondents were counting from a later point, such as 
when a dispute was resolved. For this reason, these figures should be viewed with caution. 
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POSSIBLE REFORMS AND BARRIERS 
 
1. Repeal Spaeth 
 
 During the 2013 legislative session, a proposal was made to legislatively repeal the 
Spaeth decision as a means of controlling workers’ compensation medical costs. As discussed 
above, the Spaeth decision gives health care providers the right, after being paid by an injured 
worker’s health insurance company, to later obtain any additional amounts payable from the 
workers’ compensation insurer if the injury is ultimately determined to be work-related. 
 
 The proposed repeal would have required health care providers to make a choice:  seek 
prompt reimbursement from the employee’s health insurance carrier; or forego immediate 
payment and pursue reimbursement from the employee’s workers’ compensation insurer. 
 
 Hospitals and other medical providers objected to the proposed repeal. They said 
treating injured workers is more time consuming and costly than treating other individuals 
because of extra monitoring and reporting requirements and delays and disputes regarding 
payment. Thus, they state, they should receive additional compensation for treating work-
related injuries. 
 
 Others asserted the repeal of Spaeth would encourage insurers to deny medical 
treatment claims more often, leading to increased dispute-costs overall and corresponding 
delays in treatment of injured workers. If providers had to accept payment under a health plan 
as payment in full, it was asserted workers’ compensation insurers would be incentivized to 
deny medical treatment bills in the hope the injured worker would get the treatment paid under 
existing health coverage. Then, even if workers’ compensation liability was clearly established 
later on, the maximum exposure for the service would be the discounted rate paid by the health 
insurer. DLI and OAH would need to be diligent in imposing penalties against insurers that 
unreasonably deny liability for this reason. 
 
 Providers also claimed, as noted previously, that injured workers would be harmed if 
Spaeth were repealed because most employer-sponsored health insurance programs require 
employees to make copayments and pay deductibles. The amount of copays and deductibles 
varies from one health insurance carrier to another and also varies among plans offered by a 
single payer. Thus, it is not possible to estimate the precise impact on injured workers. Suffice it 
to say that if Spaeth were repealed, employees would potentially be liable for paying at least 
part of the cost of treating their work-related injuries. 
 
 One solution to concerns raised regarding copays and deductibles is to require workers’ 
compensation payers to reimburse employees for those amounts if an injury is ultimately 
determined to be work-related. In that manner, an employee required to pay copays or 
deductibles would ultimately be made whole. However, disputed workers’ compensation claims 
can take a year or more to resolve. Requiring an injured employee to assume those payments 
while the claim is pending would likely put additional financial pressure on the employee. 
 
 Another alternative is to prohibit the provider from collecting copays and deductibles 
unless the workers’ compensation insurer is ultimately determined not to be liable for the injury. 
Medical providers would likely object to such a proposal. 
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2. Limit implant mark-ups 
 
 As noted, Minnesota is one of only two states studied by CGI that place no limits on the 
mark-ups hospitals and ASCs charge for implants. States that limit the amount of mark-ups 
typically cap the amount that will be reimbursed above the invoiced charge. Permitted mark-ups 
generally range from 5 to 65 percent above the invoiced price, with 20 percent representing the 
most common limitation.34 

 
 There is no apparent justification for allowing hospitals and ASCs to charge the workers’ 
compensation system grossly inflated prices for implants. If the reimbursement rate of implants 
is not otherwise addressed through the implementation of a diagnosis-related-group-based 
system or other means, specifically capping the mark-up would be a reasonable cost-
containment measure. The only foreseeable barrier to such an initiative would be objections 
from hospitals, ASCs and, possibly, implant manufacturers. 
 
3. Change Minnesota’s reimbursement system 
 
 Use DRGs and APCs for reimbursement – As noted, DLI retained CGI in 2011 to 
evaluate certain aspects of Minnesota’s workers’ compensation medical payment system. CGI 
analyzed the medical reimbursement methods used by workers’ compensation systems in 15 
states.35 The states were chosen based on geographic location, workers’ compensation health 
care expenditure trends and various reimbursement methodologies.36 
 
 The specific reimbursement methods used by the workers’ compensation systems in the 
studied states include the following. 
 

 Prospective payment systems – In prospective payment systems, a hospital or 
ASC is reimbursed for facility services according to a specific category of care. For 
hospital inpatient services this category is called a diagnosis-related group (DRG) 
and is based on the patient’s diagnosis, procedures performed, patient 
demographics and medical severity. For hospital outpatient and ASC services the 
category is called an ambulatory payment classification (APC) and is based on the 
procedures performed. These groups are based on the likelihood that patients in the 
same DRG or APC will need approximately the same level of care and services for 
their condition. Medicare and most commercial group health insurers use a DRG 
system in determining hospital payment rates. 
 

 Percent of charge (POC) reimbursement – Percent-of-charge-based systems are 
those for which payment represents either a discount from or percentage reduction 
of a charge. Minnesota’s payment of 85 percent of a hospital’s usual and customary 
charges is an example of a POC-based system. 

 

                                                      
34This limit is imposed by Colorado, Louisiana, Maine and Nevada. 
35See Report on Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Methodologies, CGI Federal Inc. (2011), available at 
www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Pdf/cgi_federal_report2012.pdf. CGI also analyzed the medical reimbursement systems used by 
Medicaid and Medicare; for purposes of this report, specific data from only the state systems is included. More complete 
information regarding the regulation of hospital inpatient charges in other states’ Medicaid and workers’ compensation 
systems is contained in Appendix E. 
36The states studied were:  California, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, 
North Carolina, North Dakota, Tennessee, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. 



18 
 

 Fee schedules – As generally used in Minnesota for reimbursement of noninpatient 
medical services, fee schedules establish a maximum reimbursement rate for each 
specific type of service (generally professional and diagnostic services). 

 
 Per diem – This reimbursement method for inpatient hospital services is based on a 

specified daily rate. 
 
 CGI found that 60 percent of the studied states use a per-diem- or DRG-based system 
for inpatient hospital costs covered by workers’ compensation. Thirty-three percent of the states 
reimburse inpatient costs based on either a percentage of the cost or a percentage of the 
charge for the service. Of those, only three states, such as Minnesota, provide for 
reimbursement of inpatient services based on whatever amount the provider charges.37 
 
 Regarding hospital-based outpatient surgery, CGI determined:  four of the 15 states use 
APCs for workers’ compensation; four use a percentage of charges; and three use a fee 
schedule. As noted above, certain medical services provided on an outpatient basis in 
Minnesota are covered by the fee schedule while certain others are paid based on the 
provider’s usual and customary charge. 
 
 For nonhospital-based ASCs, six of the study states (40 percent) use some form of 
Medicare-based reimbursement for workers’ compensation services. 
 
 CGI noted that because Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system bases payment of 
most hospital and ASC services on the amount charged, it has no ability to control the cost for 
those services. As a result, while medical costs represent the primary cost-driver in Minnesota’s 
workers’ compensation system, the state has no control over a significant portion of those costs. 
 
 CGI recommended Minnesota consider implementing a Medicare DRG-based system 
for reimbursement of all hospital inpatient services.38 Similarly, it recommended adoption of the 
Medicare APC payment system for reimbursement of ASC services. According to CGI, these 
systems are widely used and understood in the health care marketplace. In addition, the 
systems could be customized to reflect the payment priorities, rates and other policies of 
Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system. 
 
 Effect and incentives of DRG/APC reimbursement systems – As noted, 60 percent 
of the states studied by CGI use a per-diem- or DRG-based system for payment of inpatient 
hospital care and 27 percent use a similar system for payment of outpatient services. And, since 
CGI issued its report, Indiana enacted laws to implement a DRG-based system for use in its 
workers’ compensation system and a proposal has been introduced in Wisconsin to do the 
same. 
 
 Provider incentives are substantially different under a DRG- or APC-based system than 
under Minnesota’s current charge-based reimbursement system. Under those systems, 
providers do not gain from charging higher amounts for services. In addition, given the decision 
to hospitalize a patient and/or perform certain procedures, the hospital or ASC has an incentive 
to provide only those facility services necessary for carrying out the given procedures and 

                                                      
37Those states are Iowa, North Carolina and Wyoming; Massachusetts also uses a charge-based system, but regulates the 
amount of charges. 
38Appendix F provides several examples of the average charges of Minnesota hospitals for certain inpatient procedures 
and the average Medicare payments for those procedures. 
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rendering appropriate patient care. Further, a facility will not gain from unbundling facility 
services associated with specific procedures. This, in turn, reduces insurer costs for line-item bill 
review and the associated propensity for disputes about line-item charges. 
 
 A number of policy and implementation issues would have to be decided to implement a 
DRG- and APC-based system, including payment levels. Stakeholders, including medical 
providers and payers, will likely have strong and differing views about how such payment levels 
are established. However, regardless of how reimbursement levels are determined, the 
adoption of a DRG- and APC-based system would be a significant step forward in controlling a 
large segment of medical costs within Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system. Instead of 
medical providers determining the amounts they will be paid, a DRG- and APC-based system 
would provide an objective, prospective system that would establish uniform reimbursement 
amounts based on the specific treatment provided. Such a system would also reduce the need 
for bill reviewers. 
 
4. Curtail late payment of medical bills 
 
 Failure to comply with the law governing payment of medical charges contributes to 
increased workers’ compensation disputes and delays in treatment. There are a variety of 
statutes and rules that govern the submission and payment of bills, the payer’s liability for 
treatment costs and penalties that can be assessed for delay in payment or unreasonable or 
frivolous denials. Changes to these laws could facilitate prompt payment and reduce disputes 
and treatment delays. 
 
 Current rules provide that a penalty is payable to the employee,39 but often it is the 
health care provider who is harmed by the delay in payment. The rules could be amended to 
permit DLI to assess a penalty payable to the health care provider or the employee, depending 
on who was harmed. For example, if treatment was delayed, the penalty would be payable to 
the employee. If the employee received timely treatment, but the insurer did not timely pay the 
provider, the penalty could be paid to the provider. 
 
 The workers’ compensation law requires insurers to pay interest when medical 
payments are not made when due.40 However, providers anecdotally report that interest is not 
always paid and some providers may not even know that it is owed. Accordingly, the rules could 
be amended to provide that interest on late payment of medical benefits must be paid whether 
or not it is requested by the provider or ordered by the commissioner or a compensation judge. 
Additional penalties or additional interest at a higher rate could be imposed if interest is not paid 
when due. 
 
 Potential barriers to these reforms include opposition from the insurance industry. Also, 
additional resources may need to be obtained and allocated by DLI to investigate alleged 
violations and assess penalties. 
 
5. Enforce laws requiring electronic filing of medical bills 
 
 DLI’s joint investigation efforts with MDH during the past year have revealed that, while 
medical billing transactions between health care providers and commercial health insurers are 

                                                      
39See, e.g., Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2760, subp.3. 
40See Minnesota Statutes section 176.221, subd. 7. 
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almost universally in compliance with e-billing requirements, workers’ compensation billing and 
remittance transactions are largely not in compliance. 
 
 An option to hasten the adoption of electronic billing and remittance advice transactions 
would be to grant DLI concurrent enforcement authority with MDH of the requirements of 
Minnesota Statutes section 62J.536 with respect to workers’-compensation-related transactions. 
This would allow DLI to more aggressively work with providers and payers (and their respective 
clearinghouses) to bring them into compliance with existing e-billing requirements and to sort 
out the unique issues that exist in the workers’ compensation system. 
 
 The only anticipated barrier to this initiative is the need for additional DLI resources to 
gain expertise in this area and enforce existing statutes. 
 
6. Insurer administrative costs 
 
 Medical providers have asserted one way to reduce workers’ compensation costs in 
Minnesota is to limit or reduce insurers’ administrative costs. To better evaluate this assertion, 
DLI requested information from insurers with respect to their loss ratios and other workers’-
compensation-related costs. 
 
 Insurers reported an average loss ratio of 66 percent for their 2012 Minnesota workers’ 
compensation business. That means out of every premium dollar earned, insurers spent an 
average of 66 cents on workers’ compensation medical, indemnity and rehabilitation benefits 
(incurred losses). The loss ratios reported by insurers varied dramatically, from a low of 12 
percent to a high of 97 percent. 
 
 Insurers, on average, also reported they made no profit on their Minnesota workers’ 
compensation business. After deduction of incurred losses, insurers reported the remainder of 
premiums earned was used to pay agent and broker commissions, loss adjustment expenses, 
underwriting expenses, and taxes, licenses and fees. In total, insurers reported spending 40 
cents of every earned premium dollar on costs associated with administering their workers’ 
compensation programs. The combined total of benefit costs and administrative expenses is 
greater than the total amount of earned premiums; insurers rely on interest income to pay 
benefits to workers with long-term claims. 
 
 It must be emphasized the data provided by insurers was for only one year of 
experience. As a result, it is difficult to draw any meaningful conclusions from this data. Whether 
insurers’ administrative-related expenses are too high or whether legislative action is needed to 
address these costs is beyond the scope of this study. Nonetheless, the data reported by 
insurers raises legitimate concerns with respect to the minimal loss-ratios of some insurers and 
that an average of more than 40 percent of premiums was spent administering insurance 
programs for injured workers rather than on the injured workers themselves. 
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Hospital provider 

type Charges Encounters

Workers' 

compensation 

(WC) Other payers

Ratio of WC 

to other 

payers

Emergency room 0.8% 1.2% 1,176$             1,698$             69%

Outpatient 0.6% 0.3% 4,694$             2,603$             180%

Inpatient 0.4% 0.3% 34,389$           27,871$           123%

Source: Minnesota Department of Health, 2013.

Charge per encounter

Workers' compensation 

percentage of hospital totals

Appendix A 
 

Current levels and trends in Minnesota’s 
workers’ compensation medical costs 

 
This appendix summarizes information about the amount paid for workers’ 

compensation medical care in Minnesota and the rate of change of the costs, comparing costs 
with general medical care and with other states, with a focus on inpatient and outpatient hospital 
costs. 
 
Minnesota workers’ compensation medical care in perspective 
 

Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system paid $524 million in medical care for injured 
workers in 2011.41 Statistics from the Minnesota Department of Health show $37.7 billion was 
paid in health care spending in 2010.42 This places workers’ compensation at about 1 percent of 
Minnesota’s health care spending. 
 

With the exception of emergency room encounters, workers’ compensation accounts for 
less than 1 percent of total charges and encounters for hospital services (see Table A-1). While 
the average charge for an emergency room encounter is less than the average charge for other 
payers, workers’ compensation charges for hospital outpatient (excluding emergency room) and 
inpatient encounters are significantly higher. Data is not available to determine whether 
payments are significantly different. 
 
Table A-1. Workers’ compensation hospital use compared with other payers 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Workers’ compensation medical benefit statistical summary 

 
Workers’ compensation medical costs are examined in the Minnesota Workers’ 

Compensation System Report, 2012.43 Medical benefits constituted 34.9 percent of workers’ 
compensation system costs in 2011. Among employers with insurance through the voluntary 
market,44 that works out to $0.47 per $100 of payroll. Among voluntary market insurers, medical 
                                                      
41Workers’ Compensation:  Benefits, Coverage and Costs, 2011. National Academy of Social Insurance, 2013. 
42Minnesota Health Care Spending and Projections. Minnesota Department of Health, 2012. 
43Minnesota Workers’ Compensation System Report, 2011. Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 2013. 
44Insurers in the voluntary market may choose whether to insure a particular employer. This is in contrast to the 
Assigned Risk Plan, which is required to provide coverage to employers that are unable to obtain insurance in the 
voluntary market. 



22 
 

benefits were estimated at 55.6 percent of total benefits for injuries and illnesses in 2011, an 
increase from 51.4 percent in 2001. 

 
For all workers’ compensation claims in 2010, developed workers’ compensation 

medical benefit payments were $6,290.45 Among indemnity claims, average developed medical 
benefit payments were $23,800. Adjusting for wage growth, average medical benefit payments 
per insured claim were 31 percent higher in 2010 related to 2003, while indemnity benefits were 
down 1 percent. 
 

The Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI), an independent workers’ 
compensation research organization located in Cambridge, Mass., publishes two series of 
annual reports, CompScope and CompScope Medical Benchmarks, examining various aspects 
of workers’ compensation benefits for 16 participating states.46 WCRI uses a claims and medical 
payment database from workers’ compensation insurers that represent a majority of 
Minnesota’s workers’ compensation claims.47 WCRI reports identify inpatient and outpatient 
care, and report on surgery cases, but do not separate out ASC services, which are included 
with other nonhospital providers. 
 

Table A-2 presents the most recent set of broad measures of medical benefit costs from 
the CompScope series. Two sets of measures are provided:  claims at an average of 12 months 
after the injury; and at an average of 36 months after the injury. WCRI found Minnesota’s 
medical benefits paid per claim, measured at an average of three years after the date of injury, 
grew at an average annual rate of 9 percent for 2009 claims, compared with 2006 claims. 
Injured workers with a permanent partial disability benefit or lump-sum settlement payment 
received the highest average medical benefit payments, at an average of nearly $26,000 for 
2009 claims measured at three years. 
 

CompScope Medical Benchmarks for Minnesota, 13th edition focuses on claims 
measured in 2011. To improve the comparability of the statistics between states, claims must 
have more than seven days away from work and values are adjusted for industry and injury mix. 
Thus, the values reported in Table A-3 are not the actual averages paid within Minnesota, but 
they provide an estimate close to the unadjusted values. For Minnesota, 17 percent of the 
claims had more than seven days of lost time measured at both 12 and 36 months. As shown in 
Table A-3, Minnesota’s average medical payment for claims with more than seven days of lost 
time were slightly below the 16-state median for claims measured at 12 and 36 months after the 
injury. 
  

                                                      
45Medical costs are developed by applying historical development factors to tabulated numbers to estimate their value at 
a future date. This figure is developed to an average maturity of 8.5 years from the date of injury. The value is then 
adjusted for average wage growth to 2011 wage levels. 
46The other 15 states are:  Arkansas, California, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, New 
Jersey, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin. 
47The CompScope Benchmarks 14h edition database contains 56 percent of Minnesota’s 2011 claims. The CompScope 
Medical Benchmarks 13th edition database for services by provider type includes 38 percent of the indemnity claims and 
the database for detailed hospital services includes 25 percent of indemnity claims. 
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Mean benefits 

paid on 2011 

claims

average pctg 

change 2006 

to 2011 claims

Mean benefits 

paid on 2009 

claims

average pctg 

change 2006 

to 2009 

All paid claims [1] $ 2,713 6.1% $ 3,661 9.2%

Claims with more than 7 days lost time $10,560 4.6% $15,363 9.0%

TTD claims with more than 7 days lost time[2] $ 9,638 4.8% $ 8,671 9.2%

PPD/lump‐sum claims with more than 7 days 

lost time[3] $16,337 4.3% $25,772 6.3%

1. Includes medical only and indemnity claims.

2. Claims with temporary total benefits paid but no PPD or lump‐sum payments.

3. Claims with PPD and/or lump sum payments.

Source: CompScope Benchmarks for Minnesota, 14th Edition. Workers Compensation Research Institute, 2013.

Claims at 12 months' average 

maturity

Claims at 36 months' average 

maturity

Claims with more than 7 days lost time, adjusted for 

industry and injury mix Minnesota

16‐state 

median

MN value 

compared 

to median

Average medical payment 

2010 claims at 12 months average post‐injury  $11,089 $11,628 ‐4.6%

2008 claims at 36 months average post‐injury $14,090 $14,999 ‐6.1%

2010 claims at 12 months average post‐injury

Average med payment to hospital providers $ 9,070 $ 8,311 9.1%

Percentage of claims with hospital payment 65.0% 67.8% ‐2.8 pts

Percentage claims treated inpatient 8.2% 7.1% 1.2 pts

Percentage claims treated outpatient 63.0% 66.0% ‐2.7 pts

Percentage of payments to hospital 53.3% 45.7% 7.6 pts.

Percentage of payments inpatient 23.1% 18.1% 5.0 pts

Percentage of payments outpatient 30.3% 27.8% 2.4 pts

Average paid for hospital inpatient services $31,725 $31,713 0.0%

Average  paid for hospital outpatient services $ 5,607 $ 5,323 5.3%

Source: CompScope Medical Benchmarks for Minnesota, 13th Edition. Workers Compensation 

Research Institute, 2013.

Table A-2. WCRI CompScope medical benefit values for Minnesota claims 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Table A-3. Comparison of Minnesota medical payments with CompScope median state values 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
For claims at 12-month maturity (2010 claims measured in 2011) average payments to 

hospital providers were 9 percent higher in Minnesota than the median, although the percentage 
of claims with any hospital payments was slightly lower. Overall, hospitals received 53 percent 
of the medical payments, divided between 23 percent for inpatient services and 30 percent for 
outpatient services. All of these percentages were higher than the 16-state median. 
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2009 claims with more than 7 days lost time measured 

at 24 months average post‐injury, adjusted for industry 

and injury mix Minnesota

16‐state 

median

MN value 

compared 

to median

Average hospital paid per inpatient episode $25,233 $25,062 0.7%

Average hospital paid per inpatient episode w/ surgery $29,606 $33,615 ‐11.9%

Percentage claims inpatient 9.9% 8.3% 1.6 pts

Percentage inpatient episodes with surgery 55% 50% 5 pts

Percentage claims with inpatient surgery 6.2% 4.5% 1.7 pts

Source: CompScope Medical Benchmarks for Minnesota, 13th Edition. Workers Compensation 

Research Institute, 2013.

Payments for hospital inpatient and outpatient services were very close to the median. 
Although 65 percent of Minnesota claims with more than seven days of lost time required 
hospital treatment during the first year after the injury, only 8 percent of the workers required 
inpatient services and 6 percent required inpatient surgery. Using claims at an average of 24 
months after the injury date, average hospital payments for an inpatient episode were very close 
to the 16-state median and average payments for an inpatient surgery episode, adjusted to 
$29,600, were 12 percent below the median (see Table A-4). 
 
Table A-4. Comparison of Minnesota hospital inpatient surgery measures with median state 
values 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
WCRI Medical Benchmarks include a separate analysis of hospitalization care for low 

back cases with disc conditions, measured at an average of 24 months after the injury (see 
Table A-5). Injured workers in Minnesota were twice as likely as workers in the median state to 
receive inpatient care for their condition and they were more likely to receive surgery. While 68 
percent of the surgeries in Minnesota were performed during inpatient hospital encounters, only 
48 percent of the surgeries in the median state were inpatient. Perhaps because a wider range 
of surgeries are performed on hospital inpatients, the average total medical costs and hospital 
costs for an inpatient surgery episode are slightly lower in Minnesota. Costs for outpatient back 
surgeries are substantially lower in Minnesota, but this may be the result of injured workers 
receiving surgeries as an outpatient in other states that are more likely to be performed as an 
inpatient in Minnesota. 
 

WCRI also tracks the cumulative changes in the hospital measures. Table A-6 shows 
the cumulative change among claims measured at an average of 12 months after the injury, 
comparing values from 2005 claims with values from 2010 claims. The average hospital 
payment for Minnesota claims increased by nearly 33 percent, slightly above the median growth 
of 31 percent. Minnesota’s average hospital payment for inpatient services increased 48 percent 
and the average paid for hospital outpatient services increased by 46 percent, both about the 
rate of their respective medians. 
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Claims with more than 7 days lost time measured at 12 

months average post‐injury, 2005 claims and 2010 

claims Minnesota

16‐state 

median

MN value 

compared 

to median

Average hospital payment 32.6% 30.7% 1.9 pts

Average hospital payment for inpatient services 47.8% 42.9% 4.9 pts

Average hospital paid for outpatient services 46.4% 30.9% 15.5 pts

Source: CompScope Medical Benchmarks for Minnesota, 13th Edition. Workers Compensation 

Research Institute, 2013.

2009 claims with more than 7 days lost time measured at 

24 months average post‐injury, adjusted for industry and 

injury mix Minnesota

16‐state 

median

MN value 

compared 

to median

Percentage with inpatient care 32% 16% 16 pts

Percentage with surgery 40% 33% 7 pts

Percentage of surgery outpatient 32% 52% ‐20 pts

Percentage of surgery inpatient 68% 48% 20 pts

Average total medical paid per inpatient surgery episode  $30,973 $32,818 ‐5.6%

Average total medical  paid per outpatient surgery episode  $12,444 $16,682 ‐25.4%

Average hospital paid per inpatient surgery episode $24,901 $25,618 ‐2.8%

Source: CompScope Medical Benchmarks for Minnesota, 13th Edition. Workers Compensation Research 

Institute, 2013.

Table A-5. Comparison of Minnesota hospital and surgery measures with median state values 
for low back cases with disc conditions 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Table A-6. Comparison of 2005 to 2010 cumulative percentage change in Minnesota hospital 
payments for claims with median state values 
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Appendix B 
 

Survey procedures 
 

Three teams of staff members of the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) created a 
set of survey instruments to gather information about issues relating to medical cost 
reimbursement, payment mechanics and dispute-process-related costs in Minnesota’s workers’ 
compensation system. Different versions of the surveys were drafted for insurers and self-
insured employers, hospitals and ambulatory surgical centers (ASCs). The final versions of the 
surveys are presented in Appendix C. 
 

The survey participants were identified through both internal and external sources. The 
20 largest workers’ compensation insurance companies and the 20 largest self-insured 
employers were identified from the DLI Prompt First Action Report on Workers’ Compensation 
Claims, Fiscal-year 2012, which includes a table showing the number of claims for indemnity 
benefits filed by each insurer or self-insured employer.48 Because Assigned Risk Plan claims 
are handled by three different companies, the final count of insurers was 22 companies. The 
self-insurers included both individual companies and groups and covered both the private and 
public sectors. The selected insurers accounted for 76 percent of the total cases filed for 
workers’ compensation benefits by insurers in 2012 and the selected self-insured employers 
accounted for 68 percent of the self-insured total. The contact person for the mailing was the 
person or office that receives the annual notice of workers’ compensation assessment payment 
from DLI. 
 

The Minnesota Department of Health provided a list of the 20 hospitals with the largest 
amount of workers’ compensation payments in 2011. The Minnesota Hospital Association 
provided contact information for these hospitals. Because of the concentration of these hospitals 
in Minneapolis, St. Paul and a few other large cities, a few hospitals in smaller cities were added 
to provide geographic diversity. The resulting list included 14 health care systems, operating 24 
hospitals. 
 

The Minnesota Ambulatory Surgery Center Association provided a list of 20 ASCs and 
their contacts, including one company with two locations. 
 

The survey instruments were mailed to each participant group July 11, 2013, along with 
a cover letter explaining the statutory basis for the survey. Recipients were also provided with 
contact information at DLI to request electronic versions in either text or spreadsheet formats. 
 

Respondents provided feedback that the wording on a few questions was unclear and 
DLI sent revised surveys to all participants, between July 23 and July 31. DLI also sent a letter 
to all hospitals and ASCs explaining how to properly indicate that particular survey responses 
are to be considered proprietary information. 
 

DLI researchers reviewed the survey responses; responses requiring revision (such as 
percentage listings where the total did not equal 100 percent) were sent to the respondents 
Aug. 22 and thereafter, as surveys were received. Participants who had not yet returned 
completed surveys were sent reminders in early September. Responses from many self-insured 

                                                      
48The insurer and self-insurer table is available at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Pdf/prompt12table.pdf. 



27 
 

employers were prepared by their third-party administrators and a few insurers submitted 
information prepared by their bill-review vendors. 
 

This report includes information from 18 insurers (including all three Assigned Risk Plan 
companies), 12 self-insured employers or groups, 17 hospitals or hospital groups representing 
22 locations and 12 ASCs.  
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Appendix C-1 
 

Survey instrument—hospitals 
 

 

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Cost Study

Hospital Questions

Please answer the following questions FOR INPATIENT SERVICES ONLY.  Dollar amounts should be rounded to the

nearest $1000.  Where charges or payments responsive to a question have not been finalized, provide your best

estimate.  For purposes of this questionnaire, note the following definitions:

* “You” refers to the hospital to whom this questionnaire is addressed.

* “Spaeth” is a court decision that allows a health care provider, upon denial of liability for a patient’s WC claim

or medical condition, to submit its bill to the patient’s health insurance company.  If the workers’

compensation payer ultimately pays the claim, Spaeth requires the WC payer to pay the health care provider

any additional amounts that are payable under the WC law.

* “Dispute” means ANY DISAGREEMENT about a charge or payment that prompted additional communication

or action, including a phone call, a letter, sending additional information or initiating a legal proceeding.

Hospital:

Contact person for survey:

Phone:

E‐mail:

1. What total amount did you charge to WC payers (insurance companies, self‐insured

employers and groups, and third party administrators) for inpatient services, articles and

supplies provided in 2011?

2. What total amount did WC payers pay you in 2011 for inpatient services, articles and

supplies?

3. How many inpatients did you treat during 2011 who had WC claims for their inpatient

services?

a. How many of those had bills that were disputed at the Department of Labor and Industry

(DLI) or the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH)?

4. For 2012, what percentage of WC inpatient bills did you transmit electronically via Form 837?

Of these, what percentage —

a. Did the payer confirm electronically via Form 277?

b. Did the payer confirm electronically via Form 835?

5. For 2012, on what percentage of your WC inpatient bills did you receive payment via EFT?
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6. On what percentage of your WC inpatient bills for 2011 did you make a prior‐authorization

request?

Of this percentage, what percentage —

a. Were approved and paid without dispute?

b. Were denied and the employee did not dispute the denial?

c. Were denied and the employee disputed the denial?

    

7. On what percentage of your 2011 WC inpatient bills did you dispute nonpayment or the

amount of payment?

Of these disputed bills, what percentage —

a. Related to disputes where no proceeding was initiated (by the filing of a medical request

or claim petition) at DLI or OAH?

b. Related to disputes where you initiated a proceeding at DLI or OAH?

c. Related to disputes where you intervened in a proceeding and there was not a Spaeth

balance?

d. Related to disputes where you intervened in a proceeding and there was a Spaeth  balance?

8. Of all the charges on the disputed bills in #7, what percentage did you eventually receive as

payment?

a. Overall?

b. Where you initiated a proceeding at DLI or OAH?

c. Where you intervened in a proceeding and there was not a Spaeth  balance?

d. Where you intervened in a proceeding and there was a Spaeth  balance?

9. What was the cost of running your billing and collection system for WC inpatient services in

2011, as a percentage of the total payments received for WC inpatient services in that year

(include in‐house and vendor costs, dispute and non‐dispute costs)? 

10. What percentage of your WC inpatient bill and collection system cost for 2011 was

dispute‐driven? 

Of that dispute‐driven component, what percentage —

a. Related to disputes where no proceeding at DLI or OAH was initiated (by the filing of a

medical request or claim petition)?

b. Related to disputes where you initiated a proceeding at DLI or OAH?

c. Related to disputes in which you intervened in a proceeding and there was not a Spaeth

balance?

d. Related to disputes in which you intervened in a proceeding and there was a Spaeth

balance?

11. On what percentage of your WC inpatient bills for 2011 did the WC payer initially deny any

charges?

a. What percentage of these denied bills did you then submit to the employee or his/her             

health insurance payer?

b. Regarding the bills you submitted to the employee or health insurance payer, on what

percentage did you collect a co‐payment, deductible or other payment from the

employee?
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12. What was the payment turnaround, from initial billing to final payment, for WC inpatient bills

for 2011 —

a. Percentage of non‐disputed inpatient bills paid within —

      i. 0‐30 days

      ii. 31‐60 days

      iii. 61‐90 days

      iv. > 90 days

b. Percentage of disputed inpatient bills paid within —

      i. 0‐30 days

      ii. 31‐60 days

      iii. 61‐90 days

      iv. > 90 days

13. List the vendors and partners you use to help process WC medical bills (i.e., the entities your

workers’ compensation inpatient billings go through to reach the payer).  (Add lines if necessary.)

Vendor/parter #1:

Vendor/parter #2:

Vendor/parter #3:

For 2011, what was your total cost of transmitting WC inpatient bills to the payer —

a. As a percentage of total WC inpatient payments?

b. As an average per bill?

14. For the following procedures provided on an inpatient basis during 2011, please list the

median payment you received from each of your top five (by dollar volume) commercial

insurers and the median payment received from your top three Minnesota WC payers

(combined).  Include payment for all services, articles and supplies provided (including

implants) EXCEPT those for professional services.*

CPT code

Comm'l 

payer 1

Comm'l 

payer 2

Comm'l 

payer 3

Comm'l 

payer 4

Comm'l 

payer 5 MN WC

22851  Apply spine prosth device

63047  Remove spine lamina 1 lmbr

63030  Low back disk surgery

22612  Lumbar spine fusion

22845  Insert spine fixation device

12001  Rpr s/n/ax/gen/trnk 2.5cm/<

29826  Shoulder arthroscopy/surgery

12002  Rpr s/n/ax/gen/trnk 2.6‐7.5cm

64721  Carpal tunnel surgery

62311  Inject spine lumbar/sacral

* If you cannot provide the information requested above, please provide a copy of the

agreement between you and each of your five top commercial health insurers that governs

reimbursements for the above services, articles and supplies (including implants) other

than professional fees.
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Your responses to the remaining questions should relate to both inpatient and outpatient cases.

15. How do you determine what to charge for implants in Minnesota WC cases?  (For purposes of

this question, “implants” are any single‐use item that is surgically inserted and not intended

to be removed within six weeks INCLUDING plates, cages, prosthetic/orthotic devices, pain

pumps and permanent neuro‐stimulators but EXCLUDING rods, pins, screws or similar

devices.)

a. What formula do you use, if any?

b. For implants in 2011, what was the median percent mark‐up over the price you paid the

supplier(s)?

16. In 2011, from whom did you purchase implants — the manufacturer or a different entity such

as a distributor?  Please describe.

17. For 2011, did you receive discounts or rebates from any implant suppliers or manufacturers?

(Yes/No)

If so, please describe the types and the amounts.
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Appendix C-2 
 

Survey instrument—ambulatory surgical centers 
 

 
  

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Cost Study

Ambulatory Surgical Center Questions

Please answer the following questions.  Dollar amounts should be rounded to the nearest $1000.  Where charges

or payments responsive to a question have not been finalized, provide your best estimate.  For purposes of this

questionnaire, note the following definitions:

* “You” refers to the ambulatory surgical center to whom this questionnaire is addressed.

* “Spaeth” is a court decision that allows a health care provider, upon denial of liability for a patient’s WC claim

or medical condition, to submit its bill to the patient’s health insurance company.  If the workers’

compensation payer ultimately pays the claim, Spaeth requires the WC payer to pay the health care provider

any additional amounts that are payable under the WC law.

* “Dispute” means ANY DISAGREEMENT about a charge or payment that prompted additional communication

or action, including a phone call, a letter, sending additional information or initiating a legal proceeding.

Ambulatory surgery center:

Contact person for survey:

Phone:

E‐mail:

1. What total amount did you charge to WC payers (insurance companies, self‐insured

employers and groups, and third party administrators) for services, articles and supplies

provided in 2011?

2. What total amount did WC payers pay you in 2011 for services, articles and supplies?

3. How many patients did you treat during 2011 who had WC claims for their services?

a. How many of those patients had bills that were disputed at the Department of Labor 

and Industry (DLI) or the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH)?

4. For 2012, what percentage of WC bills did you transmit electronically via Form 837?

Of these, what percentage —

a. Did the payer confirm electronically via Form 277?

b. Did the payer confirm electronically via Form 835?

5. For 2012, on what percentage of your WC bills did you receive payment via EFT?
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6. On what percentage of your WC bills for 2011 did you make a prior‐authorization request?

Of this percentage, what percentage —

a. Were approved and paid without dispute?

b. Were denied and the employee did not dispute the denial?

c. Were denied and the employee disputed the denial?

    

7. On what percentage of your 2011 WC bills did you dispute nonpayment or the amount of

payment?

Of these disputed bills, what percentage —

a. Related to disputes where no proceeding was initiated (by the filing of a medical request

or claim petition) at DLI or OAH?

b. Related to disputes where you initiated a proceeding at DLI or OAH?

c. Related to disputes where you intervened in a proceeding and there was not a Spaeth

balance?

d. Related to disputes where you intervened in a proceeding and there was a Spaeth  balance?

8. Of all the charges on the disputed bills in #7, what percentage did you eventually receive as

payment?

a. Overall?

b. Where you initiated a proceeding at DLI or OAH?

c. Where you intervened in a proceeding and there was not a Spaeth  balance?

d. Where you intervened in a proceeding and there was a Spaeth  balance?

9. What was the cost of running your billing and collection system for WC services in 2011, as a

percentage of the total payments received for WC services in that year (include in‐house and

vendor costs, dispute and non‐dispute costs)? 

10. What percentage of your WC billing and collection system cost for 2011 was dispute‐driven? 

Of that dispute‐driven component, what percentage —

a. Related to disputes where no proceeding at DLI or OAH was initiated (by the filing of a

medical request or claim petition)?

b. Related to disputes where you initiated a proceeding at DLI or OAH?

c. Related to disputes in which you intervened in a proceeding and there was not a Spaeth

balance?

d. Related to disputes in which you intervened in a proceeding and there was a Spaeth

balance?

11. On what percentage of your WC bills for 2011 did the WC payer initially deny any charges?

a. What percentage of these denied bills did you then submit to the employee or his/her             

health insurance payer?

b. Regarding the bills you submitted to the employee or health insurance payer, on what

percentage did you collect a co‐payment, deductible or other payment from the

employee?
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12. What was the payment turnaround, from initial billing to final payment, for WC bills for

2011 —

a. Percentage of non‐disputed bills paid within —

      i. 0‐30 days

      ii. 31‐60 days

      iii. 61‐90 days

      iv. > 90 days

b. Percentage of disputed bills paid within —

      i. 0‐30 days

      ii. 31‐60 days

      iii. 61‐90 days

      iv. > 90 days

13. List the vendors and partners you use to help process WC medical bills (i.e., the entities your

workers’ compensation billings go through to reach the payer).  (Add lines as necessary.)

Vendor/parter #1:

Vendor/parter #2:

Vendor/parter #3:

For 2011, what was your total cost of transmitting WC bills to the payer —

a. As a percentage of total WC payments?

b. As an average per bill?

14. For the following procedures provided during 2011, please list the median payment you

received from each of your top five (by dollar volume) commercial insurers and the median

payment received from your top three Minnesota WC payers (combined).  Include payment

for all services, articles and supplies provided (including implants) EXCEPT those for

professional services.*

CPT code

Comm'l 

payer 1

Comm'l 

payer 2

Comm'l 

payer 3

Comm'l 

payer 4

Comm'l 

payer 5 MN WC

64483 Inj foramen epidural l/s

64415 N block inj brachial plexus

29826 Shoulder anrthroscopy/surgery

29881 Knee arthroscopy/surgery

64721 Carpal tunnel surgery

64493 Inj paravert f jnt l/s 1 lev

29824 Shoulder arthroscopy/surgery

64494 Inj paraver f jnt l/s 2 lev

62311 Inject spine lumbar/sacral

29827 Arthroscop rotator cuff repr

* If you cannot provide the information requested above, please provide a copy of the

agreement between you and each of your five top commercial health insurers that governs

reimbursements for the above services, articles and supplies (including implants) other

than professional fees.
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15. How do you determine what to charge for implants in Minnesota WC cases?  (For purposes of

this question, “implants” are any single‐use item that is surgically inserted and not intended

to be removed within six weeks INCLUDING plates, cages, prosthetic/orthotic devices, pain

pumps and permanent neuro‐stimulators but EXCLUDING rods, pins, screws or similar

devices.)

a. What formula do you use, if any?

b. For implants in 2011, what was the median percent mark‐up over the price you paid the

supplier(s)?

16. In 2011, from whom did you purchase implants — the manufacturer or a different entity such

as a distributor?  Please describe.

17. For 2011, did you receive discounts or rebates from any implant suppliers or manufacturers?

(Yes/No)

If so, please describe the types and the amounts.



36 
 

Appendix C-3 
 

Survey instrument—insurers 
 

 

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Cost Study

Insurer and Self-Insurer Questions

Please answer the following questions.  Dollar amounts should be rounded to the nearest $1000.  Where

charges or payments responsive to a question have not been finalized, please provide your best estimate.  For

purposes of this questionnaire, note the following definitions:

* “You” refers to the insurer or self‐insurer or to whom this questionnaire is addressed.

* “Spaeth” is a court decision that allows a health care provider, upon denial of liability for a patient’s WC claim

or medical condition, to submit its bill to the patient’s health insurance company.  If the workers’

compensation payer ultimately pays the claim, Spaeth requires the WC payer to pay the health care provider

any additional amounts that are payable under the WC law.

* “Dispute” means ANY DISAGREEMENT about a charge or payment that prompted additional communication

or action, including a phone call, a letter, sending additional information or initiating a legal proceeding.

Insurer or self‐insurer:

Contact person for survey:

Phone:

E‐mail:

1. What total amount were you charged for medical services, articles and supplies provided in

2011 to WC claimants?

2. What total amount did you pay in 2011 for medical services, articles and supplies provided to

WC claimants?

3. What is the total number of compensable WC injury claims (indemnity and medical‐only) you

received in 2011?

4. For 2012, what percentage of WC hospital bills did you receive electronically via Form 837?

Of these, what percentage —

a. Did you confirm electronically via Form 277?

b. Did you confirm electronically via Form 835?

5. For 2012, what percentage of WC non‐hospital medical bills did you receive electronically via

Form 837?

Of these, what percentage —

a. Did you confirm electronically via Form 277?

b. Did you confirm electronically via Form 835?

6. For 2012, what percentage of all WC medical bills did you pay via EFT?
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7. On what percentage of medical bills for 2011 did you receive a prior authorization request?

Of this percentage, what percentage —

a. Did you approve and pay without dispute?

b. Did you deny and the employee did not dispute the denial?

c. Did you deny and the employee disputed the denial?

    

8. On what percentage of the 2011 medical bills you received did a health care provider

dispute nonpayment or the amount of payment?

Of this percentage, what percentage —

a. Related to disputes where no proceeding was initiated (by the filing of a medical request

or claim petition) at the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) or the Office of

Administrative Hearings (OAH)?

b. Related to disputes where a proceeding was initiated by the provider at DLI or OAH?

c. Related to disputes where a proceeding was initiated by the claimant and no providers

intervened?

d. Related to disputes where a provider intervened in the proceeding and there was not a

Spaeth balance?

e. Related to disputes where a provider intervened in the proceeding and there was a

Spaeth balance?

     

9. Of the disputed bills in #8, what percentage involved —

a. Hospital inpatient services?

b. Hospital outpatient services?

c. ASC facility services?

d. All other medical services?

10. What was the cost of running your WC medical payment system in 2011, as a percentage of

the total payments you made for WC services provided in that year (include in‐house and

vendor costs, dispute and non‐dispute related costs)?

What percentage of this cost was attributable to —

a. Hospital inpatient services?

b. Hospital outpatient services?

c. ASC facility services?

d. All other medical services?

11. What percentage of your WC medical payment system cost for 2011 was dispute‐driven?

Of that dispute‐driven component, what percentage —

a. Related to disputes where no proceeding was initiated (through the filing of a medical

request or claim petition) at DLI or OAH?

b. Related to disputes where a health care provider initiated the proceeding?

c. Related to disputes where a proceeding was initiated by the employee and no health care

provider intervened?

d. Related to disputes where a provider intervened in the proceeding and there was NOT a

Spaeth balance?

e. Related to disputes where a provider intervened and there was a Spaeth  balance?
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12. What percentage of the 2011 cost of your WC medical payment system was for vendor

services?

What percentage of that amount was for —

a. Benefit managers?

b. TPAs?

c. Bill reviewers?

d. Clearinghouses?

e. IMEs (other than those appointed by OAH)?

f. Other?

Specify other:

13. What percentage of the claims identified in your response to #3 included at least one IME

requested by you?  

14. What is the average cost of the IMEs referenced in your response to #13?

15. In the disputed bills for 2011 indicated in #8, what amount did you pay, as a percentage of

all the charges on those bills —

a. Overall?

b. Where the provider initiated the dispute?

c. Where the claimant initiated the dispute and the provider did not intervene?

d. Where the provider intervened and there was not a Spaeth  balance?

e. Where the provider intervened and there was a Spaeth  balance?

16. What was your payment turnaround, from initial billing to final payment, for all WC medical

bills other than for hospital inpatient services for 2011 —

a. Percentage of non‐disputed bills paid within —

     i. 0‐30 days

     ii. 31‐60 days

     iii. 61‐90 days

     iv. > 90 days

b. Percentage of disputed bills paid within —

     i. 0‐30 days

     ii. 31‐60 days

     iii. 61‐90 days

     iv. > 90 days

17. What was your payment turnaround, from initial billing to final payment, for WC hospital

inpatient bills for 2011 —

a. Percentage of non‐disputed inpatient bills paid within —

     i. 0‐30 days

     ii. 31‐60 days

     iii. 61‐90 days

     iv. > 90 days
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b. Percentage of disputed inpatient bills paid within—

     i. 0‐30 days

     ii. 31‐60 days

     iii. 61‐90 days

     iv. > 90 days

18. For the following procedures provided on an inpatient basis during 2011, please list the

median charge you were billed and the median payment you made to your top ten (by dollar

volume) hospitals (only those with more than 100 beds) under Minnesota’s workers’

compensation system.  Include charges and payments for all services, articles and

supplies (including implants) EXCEPT fees for professional services.

CPT code

Median 

charge

Median 

payment

22851  Apply spine prosth device

63047  Remove spine lamina 1 lmbr

63030  Low back disk surgery

22612  Lumbar spine fusion

22845  Insert spine fixation device

12001  Rpr s/n/ax/gen/trnk 2.5cm/<

29826  Shoulder arthroscopy/surgery

12002  Rpr s/n/ax/gen/trnk 2.6‐7.5cm

64721  Carpal tunnel surgery

62311  Inject spine lumbar/sacral

19. For the following procedures, please list the median charge you were billed and the median

payment you made during 2011 to your top ten (by dollar volume) ambulatory surgical

centers under Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system.  Include charges and payment for

all services, articles and supplies provided (including implants) EXCEPT those for professional

services.

CPT code

Median 

charge

Median 

payment

64483  Inj foramen epidural l/s

64415  N block inj brachial plexus

29826  Shoulder arthroscopy/surgery

29881  Knee arthroscopy/surgery

64721  Carpal Tunnel surgery

64493  Inj paravert f jnt l/s 1 lev

29824  Shoulder arthroscopy/surgery

64494  Inj paraver f jnt l/s2 lev

62311  Inject spine lumbar/sacral

29827  Artroscop rotator cuff repr



40 
 

Appendix D 
 

How workers’ compensation medical care differs 
from other medical care systems 

 
There are some fundamental differences between medical care provided through 

workers’ compensation and through other health care systems. The most prominent difference 
is that workers’ compensation medical care is delivered as part of the package of workers’ 
compensation benefits, which includes indemnity benefits for lost wages and permanent 
disability, and vocational rehabilitation for lost employment. 
 

Medical care and the injured worker’s medical status influence eligibility for wage-loss 
benefits. Eligibility for wage-replacement benefits depends on the injured worker maintaining 
work disability status, which is largely based on their use of and need for medical care. Health 
care providers are also responsible for measuring the presence and extent of permanent 
disabilities that determine the amount of permanent partial disability benefits and eligibility for 
permanent total disability benefits. 
 

The next most prominent difference, related to the first, is the limitation that workers’ 
compensation medical care only includes services for work-related injuries and illnesses. Thus, 
early in a workers’ compensation claim, the insurer needs to determine if an injury or illness is 
work-related and whether each medical services is for the treatment of the work injury or illness. 
When a workers’ compensation insurer decides to deny primary liability for a workers’ 
compensation claim and the injured worker does not contest the denial, then medical care shifts 
to the worker’s health care insurance, if available. This shift also occurs when the insurer denies 
that a claimed medical condition is not related to the work injury (referred to as medical 
causation). When the insurer’s decision to deny primary liability or medical causation for an 
injury or illness is disputed by the worker, the worker may initially receive medical care through 
an alternative medical insurance arrangement and expect to switch to workers’ compensation 
insurance when the dispute is resolved. Sometimes medical services are delivered by health 
care providers without assurance of workers’ compensation payment when the claim is in 
dispute, in the expectation that a resolution of the dispute will lead to payment for their services. 
 

Workers and health care providers may perceive benefits and disadvantages of workers’ 
compensation over other medical insurance. An advantage for injured workers is that workers’ 
compensation medical benefits are paid in full by the workers’ compensation insurers; the 
injured workers do not pay any deductibles or copayments. Health care providers often receive 
higher payments from workers’ compensation insurers than from other health care insurers or 
programs. On the other hand, treatment for work injuries is denied more often than treatment 
under a group health policy based on the workers’ compensation payer’s review about whether 
each service provided is reasonable, necessary and related to the work injury. Providers are 
required to submit additional information to the payer or attorneys to support the need for the 
treatment, the relationship of the treatment to the work injury and the extent of the injury for 
purposes of payment of indemnity benefits and assisting the injured worker return to work. 
Providers are also asked to “intervene” in litigation or take a cut in reimbursement where there is 
a settlement, to get paid. Workers’ compensation insurers also may require the worker to see a 
provider selected by the employer or insurer for an independent medical examination to 
determine whether the treatment is reasonable, necessary and related to the work injury.   
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The limitation of workers’ compensation insurance to cover only work-related injuries 
and illnesses also applies to conditions that manifest themselves after a period of time has 
elapsed. For example, a workers’ compensation insurer might contest that a worker’s leg pain is 
related to a covered back injury. The insurer’s contention might lead to extra tests and 
medical/legal examination to provide the parties with medical evidence to support their views. 
 

Another important difference between workers’ compensation medical benefits and other 
medical insurance is the workers’ compensation insurer, after liability is assumed, is responsible 
for the worker’s medical care for that injury or illness, and its related conditions, for the entire 
duration of the medical episode or until litigation or a settlement is reached to terminate the 
insurer’s liability. Even though an employer may change its workers’ compensation insurer, the 
workers injured while the policy was in effect by the prior insurer remain covered by that insurer. 
 

These differences in the relationship between workers (the health care patients) and 
workers’ compensation insurers affect the interactions of the insurers, workers and the health 
care providers. This complex set of interactions is played out thousands of times each year 
within the context of the workers’ compensation medical reimbursement system. 
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Type of regulation Location Size Type

Per diem 10 4 2 1 4

DRG 17 9 2 1 5

Percent of charges 10 2 1 3 2

Usual and customary 2 0 0 1 0

Cost to charge 7 6 0 1 0

Per service or procedure 3 1 0 0 0

Other 2 1 0 0 0

No fee regulation 10 ‐‐  ‐‐  ‐‐  ‐‐ 

1. States can be classified in more than one category.

Number of 

states1

Use 

hospital‐

specific 

fees

Reimbursement levels differ by

Source:  Coomer, N. National inventory of workers' compensation fee schedules for hospitals and 

ambulatory surgical centers . Workers Compensation Research Institute, 2010.

Appendix E 
 

Fee regulation systems in workers’ compensation and Medicaid 
 

This appendix summarizes information collected and reported by the Workers 
Compensation Research Institute for state workers’ compensation systems and by CGI Federal 
for state Medicaid programs.49,50 
 
Hospital inpatient fee regulation 
 

The distribution of hospital inpatient fee regulation systems is shown in Table E-1. 
Seventeen states use a diagnosis-related group (DRG) system to regulate their hospital 
inpatient fees, followed by per diem systems and percent-of-charge systems, each used in 10 
states. Seven states use hospital-specific cost-to-charge ratios, including one state that 
combines it with other reimbursement methods. Three states combine DRG-based and per-
diem systems, and three other states combine DRG-based and percent-of-charges systems. 
Only two states, Minnesota and Wyoming, reimburse hospitals according to their usual and 
customary charges. Minnesota is characterized as having a combination of percent-of-charges 
and usual-and-customary reimbursement. 
 
Table E-1. Hospital inpatient fee regulation 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Only nine states have the same allowable fee levels for all hospitals; the rest either 
differentiate among hospitals by location, size or type, or they use hospital-specific fee levels. 
Nine of the 17 states that use DRG-based systems also have different allowable fees for 
individual hospitals. 
                                                      
49Information current as of Sept. 30, 2009. Coomer, N. National Inventory of Workers’ Compensation Fee Schedules for Hospitals 
and Ambulatory Surgical Centers. Workers Compensation Research Institute, 2010. 
50Report on Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Methodologies. CGI Federal, 2011. The tables are based on Quinn, K. and 
Courts, C., Sound practices in Medicaid payment for hospital care. Center for Healthcare Strategies, 2010. 
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The majority of state Medicaid programs, including Minnesota’s, use a DRG-based 

reimbursement system for inpatient care for the nonmanaged-care part of their programs. Thirty 
states use a DRG-based system, eight states use a per-diem reimbursement, four states use a 
non-DRG per-stay system and five states use a cost-based reimbursement system. 
 
DLI survey on implementation and effect of DRG reimbursement 

During July 2013, DLI sent a survey to 16 of the states that use a DRG system about 
their implementation of this system and the results of DRG inpatient fee regulation. Responses 
were received from 11 states. Two of the states implemented a DRG system prior to 2000, five 
states implemented a DRG system between 2006 and 2008, and four states adopted a DRG 
system in 2010 or later. The DRG system replaced percent-of-charge systems in four states, a 
cost-to-charge system in two states, usual-and-customary charges in two other states and a 
mixed system in one state. (Some states did not respond to each question.) All 10 responding 
states indicated they used the Medicare DRG system, primarily MS-DRG, with two states using 
an alternative grouper system. 
 

The states were asked whether there was a reduction in medical disputes following the 
change to the DRG system, but little – if any – research was reported by the states. Montana 
responded that its medical-dispute rate was unchanged and Texas reported a reduction in the 
number of disputes (although this might be related to changes in the number of claims). 
 

The states were also asked whether changing to a DRG payment system had any effect 
on system costs. For some of the states, the overall impact was designed to be cost neutral. 
Most states have not done any research and do not have data available. Montana responded 
that an independent analyst, conducting research for a more-recent law change, found a 
significant cost decrease due to use of DRG systems. 
 
Hospital outpatient fee regulation 
 

The distribution of states by type of hospital outpatient fee regulation is shown in Table 
E-2. Thirteen states use a service or procedure-specific fee regulation system. Twelve states, 
including Minnesota, use a percent-of-charge system, followed by 11 states using the 
ambulatory payment classification (APC) system or another service/procedure grouping 
method. A few states use combinations of different types of fee regulation; Minnesota is 
characterized as using percent-of-charges, usual-and-customary and per-service or per-
procedure regulations. 
 

Compared to inpatient services, there is less grouping of hospitals by location, size and 
type. Eighteen states use hospital-specific fee regulation and 16 states have the same allowable 
fee regulation for all hospitals. 
 

State Medicaid programs are much more likely to use a cost-to-charge ratio for 
reimbursement of outpatient services. Twenty-four states use a cost-reimbursement system. 
Minnesota and eight other states use the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Service’s APC 
system. Thirteen states primarily use their own fee schedule for outpatient services and three 
states use an ambulatory patient group (APG) system, which bundles more services than the 
APC system. Two of the cost reimbursement states are also moving to an APG system. 
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Type of regulation Location Size Type

Percent of charges 12 2 1 3 2

Usual and customary 4 0 0 1 0

Cost to charge 5 4 0 0 0

Per service or procedure 13 3 2 1 0

APC or other grouping 11 8 0 0 3

Other 5 3 1 0 0

No fee regulation 9 ‐‐  ‐‐  ‐‐  ‐‐ 

1. States can be classified in more than one category.

Number of 

states1

Use 

hospital‐

specific 

fees

Source:  Coomer, N. National inventory of workers' compensation fee schedules for hospitals 

and ambulatory surgical centers. Workers Compensation Research Institute, 2010.

Reimbursement levels differ by

Table E-2. Hospital outpatient fee regulation 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
Hospital outpatient cost index 

The Workers Compensation Research Institute created a hospital outpatient cost index 
based on services for shoulder and knee surgeries.51 The index was scaled so the score for the 
median state was set to 100 points. Scores for the 20 states in their analysis ranged from a low 
of 39 percent of the median value to a high of 51 percent above the median value. Minnesota’s 
index value was 26 percent above the median, the seventh highest. Previous publication of the 
index, in 2006 and 2008, set Minnesota at eighth highest. 
 

The index rankings closely follow the reimbursement regulation method used in the 
states. States using a fixed-amount fee schedule had the lowest index values. Fixed-amount fee 
schedules include regulation on a per-procedure basis, often using current procedural 
terminology (CPT) codes or a resource-grouping system, such as the APC. States that used no 
fee schedule or a percent-of-charge regulation had higher index values. Three of the five states 
with the highest index values were states without an outpatient fee schedule. 
 

The Workers’ Compensation Research Institiute also showed the trend in the index from 
2005 through 2010. Minnesota’s 2010 index value was 42 percent higher than its 2005 value. 
This was the sixth-highest trend value, which ranged from a 10 percent decrease to a 55 
percent increase. 
 
Ambulatory surgery center fee regulation 
 

The distribution of states by type of fee regulation for ASC services is shown in Table  
A-3. There is much less variation in the type of fee regulation for ASCs than for hospital 
services. APC or another grouping method is used by 18 states and the percent-of-charges 
method is used by 12 states. Only one state, Colorado, uses both methods. Ten of the 11 states 
that use a service grouping method for hospital outpatient services also use that method for 

                                                      
51 Fomenko, O. and Yang, R. Hospital Outpatient Cost Index for Workers’ Compensation, 2nd edition. Workers Compensation 
Research Institute, 2013. 
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Type of regulation

Number of 

states1

Percent of charges 12

Usual and customary 3

Cost to charge 1

Per service or procedure 9

APC or other grouping 18

Other 4

No fee regulation 9

1. States can be classified in more than one category.

Source:  Coomer, N. National inventory of workers' compensation fee schedules for hospitals 

and ambulatory surgical centers. Workers Compensation Research Institute, 2010.

ASCs. Minnesota’s ASC fee-regulation system is characterized as a combination of percent-of-
charges, usual-and-customary and fee-per-service or fee-per-procedure systems. 
 
Only four states take ASC location into account and one state considers ASC size. All ASCs 
use the same allowable fee regulation in 22 states and ASC-specific fees are used in 16 states. 
 
State Medicaid programs generally use a version of the Medicare ASC fee schedule or their 
own fee schedule. Some states use an older version of the Medicare system that assigns ASC 
services to one of nine groups. 
 
Table E-3. Ambulatory surgical center fee regulation 
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Medical condition (DRG number)

Highest 

average 

charge

Lowest 

average  

charge

Highest 

average 

payment

Lowest 

average 

payment

Highest ratio 

of payments 

to charges

Lowest ratio 

of payments 

to charges

Spinal fusion except cervical (460) 97,873$     26,133$     35,649$     22,616$     96.9% 25.9%

Cervical spinal fusion (473)  61,020$     32,815$     19,411$     13,013$     56.3% 26.9%

Back and neck procedure except spinal fusion (491) 34,809$     13,004$     24,423$     5,730$       49.9% 21.3%

Medical back problems (552) 24,181$     8,980$       19,757$     4,583$       63.2% 23.0%

Source: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services website for Medicare provider data, www.cms.gov/Research‐Statistics‐Data‐and‐

Systems/Statistics‐Trends‐and‐Reports/Medicare‐Provider‐Charge‐Data/Inpatient.html

1. Selected conditions exclude cases with complicating conditions. FFY is the Federal Fiscal Year, which begins on October 1 and ends on 

September 30 of the indicated year.

Appendix F 
 

Inpatient charge and payment variations in Medicare 
 

The base level of information used in hospital reimbursement is the hospital’s listed price 
of services, called the charge master. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
requires that hospitals use the same charge master for all patients, regardless of the payment 
source. Payments vary between payers using the same hospital because of managed care 
systems, price negotiations and legal constraints. CMS has published national and state 
averages for the 100 most common Medicare DRGs paid during federal-fiscal-year 2011.52 The 
CMS data shows there is a wide range of charges among states and among hospitals within a 
state, and there is also a somewhat narrower range of payments that hospitals receive from 
Medicare for the same set of services and procedures. 
 

While the population of Medicare patients differs in significant ways from the population 
of injured workers – and one would not expect the same costs for treatment of elderly and 
working-age patients – the Medicare payment levels are used as a starting point in the 
calculation of workers’ compensation hospital inpatient reimbursement in many states. In states 
that use a cost-plus-percentage or percent-of-charges reimbursement method, each hospital’s 
charge master is used to determine payment levels. 
 

Among the 100 most common DRGs, four DRG classifications are also likely to be found 
in workers’ compensation systems, and these all involve back and spine procedures. Nationally, 
the average payments for these four DRGs are in the range of 24 to 29 percent of average 
charges submitted to CMS. 
 

Table F-1 shows the highest and lowest average Medicare hospital charges and 
payments for each of these four DRGs, among Minnesota hospitals with at least 11 discharges 
for that DRG. Minnesota hospitals have a wide range of charges and a relatively narrower range 
of payments. The hospitals with the highest ratio of payments to charges are paid at least half of 
their charges, while the hospitals with the lowest ratios are paid only about one-fourth of their 
charges. 
 
Table F-1. Highest and lowest hospital average Medicare inpatient charges and payment for 
selected conditions, Minnesota hospitals, federal-fiscal-year 2011 [1] 
 
 
 
 
   

                                                      
52Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services website for Medicare provider data, www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-
Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/Medicare-Provider-Charge-Data/Inpatient.html. 


