
 
 
 

 
 

   
 
 
 

  Individual Boiler Engineer License 
Examination Application 

Application Fee = $50.00 
 

SPACE IN BOX FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

 

SELECT THE LICENSE YOU ARE APPLYING FOR: 
 

Chief A Class               1A Class                       2A Class 
Chief B Class               1B Class                       2B Class 
Chief C Class               1C Class                       2C Class 
Special Engineer           Historical Boiler Engineer 

Account Number 632448 STK B42BOILLIC 
Check Number Amount Paid 

 PCK  CCK            MO DLI Deposit Date 

NOTICE: Pursuant to Minnesota 
Statute § 604.113, checks returned 
for nonpayment will be charged a 
$30 service charge and may subject 
the issuer to additional civil penalties. 

Is this a license exam retest?                 YES           NO 
If YES, submit application form and fee.   
Affidavit form is not required. 
 

PRINT IN INK OR TYPE 
MAKE A COPY OF THIS APPLICATION FOR YOUR RECORDS 

APPLICATION NUMBER: LICENSE NUMBER: 

BOILER LICENSE NUMBER 
 

In the space below, enter Minnesota boiler 
engineer license number(s) currently held, 
if applicable.  (An applicant for a Special 
Engineer license has no number to enter.) 

AFFIDAVIT OF OPERATING EXPERIENCE 

No affidavit required – Special Engineer 
Historical boiler engineer affidavit 
Boiler engineer license affidavit 
(all chief class, 1st class, and 2nd 

class license applications require an 
affidavit) 

U.S. MILITARY OPERATING EXPERIENCE 

Applicants may apply their boiler operating 
experience in the U.S. Armed Forces toward 
qualifying for a boiler license. 

 
DD-214 and supporting documentation 
 
 
 
 

MINNESOTA BOILER ENGINEER LICENSE NO. 

 

yes 

 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division 
Licensing / Boiler 
P.O. Box 64219 
St. Paul, MN  55164-0219 
 
Email: dli.exam@state.mn.us  
Website: www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp  
Phone: (651) 284-5031 
TTY/MRS: (651) 297-4198 

 

 
 

PAID APPLICATION FEE IS NOT REFUNDABLE 
CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED BY MAIL OR WALK-IN 

 
MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR & INDUSTRY 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
The information you as an individual provide in this application will be used by Department of Labor & Industry staff members to determine if you meet the 
Department’s registration requirements.  Minnesota Statute § 270C.72 Subd. 4  requires you to provide your social security number on this application. The other 
information is being requested for purposes of processing your application. With the exception of your Social Security, you are not legally required to supply the 
requested data on this application; however, failure to provide the requested information may delay the processing of your application or result in the denial of the 
same.  Except for your name and designated address, the information you provide on this application is private data while the application is pending.  Disclosure 
of this information to others may occur as authorized or required by law, including but not limited to the Attorney General’s Office, the Department of Revenue, the 
Department of Human Services, upon court order, and/or for the purpose of verification and investigation.  Once you are registered, the information you provide, 
other than your Social Security Number and non-designated address, becomes public data and may be released to anyone upon request. 

 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YYYY) AREA CODE & PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL ADDRESS 

LEGAL LAST NAME SUFFIX (JR, SR, II, III) LEGAL FIRST NAME LEGAL MIDDLE NAME 

RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS PUBLIC MAILING ADDRESS (if different from residential address) 

CITY NAME STATE ZIP CODE CITY NAME STATE ZIP CODE 

 
Is the Residential address above a non- 
designated (private) address? Yes No If         , then you must provide a designated (Public) mailing address. 

 
APPLICANT SIGNATURE DATE SIGNED (MM/DD/YYYY) 

 
 
 

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on a tape. To request, call 1-800-342-5354 (DIAL-DLI) Voice or TDD (651) 297-4198. 
CC0500 Initial Boiler Engineer License Exam Application (8/14) 

mailto:dli.exam@state.mn.us
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Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division 
Licensing and Certification Services 
443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN  55155 
 
Mailing Address: 
PO Box 64219  
St. Paul, MN 55164-0219 
 
E-mail: dli.license@state.mn.us 
Web Site: www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp  
Directions: http://www.dli.mn.gov/Direct.asp 
Phone:  (651) 284-5031 

 

 

 
Boiler Engineer License Affidavit 

(Chief, First Class, and Second Class Licenses) 

I,   , upon oath duly administered, declare that to my personal knowledge, 
(*chief engineer, second class engineer higher or employer) 

the applicant:   of:    
(city and state) 

operator’s license number   (of Applicant, if applicable), 
 
Note:  Do not use manufacturers horsepower ratings.  For Licensing purposes, 10 square feet of heating surface = One Boiler Horsepower, or 
if H.S. cannot be discerned, 67,000 btu/hr input = One Boiler Horsepower.  Reference rule 5225.1000.  For high pressure A or B licenses, 
one year is equal to 2000 hours, reference rule 5225.0550, Subp. 10.  Minnesota Residents: may only claim operating experience gained 
while the applicant had a valid license. 

HAS ACTUALLY OPERATED A 
STEAM BOILER PLANT 
Total Horsepower Maximum W orking Pressure (psi) From 

Month Day Year 
TO  (must have end date) 
Month Day Year 

and/or HOT WATER BOILER PLANT 
BTU Input/KW /Horsepower Pressure Temperature From

Month Day Year 
TO  (must have end date) 
Month Day Year 

And (if application) STEAM ENGINES OR STEAM TURBINES
Total Horsepower From 

Month      Day    Year 
To

Month      Day    Year 
 Total Hours

HIGH PRESSURE 
Total High Pressure  
Boiler Operation Hours 

From 
Month      Day    Year 

To
Month      Day    Year 

 Total Hours

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326B.082, subd. 11(b)(2), submission of a false or misleading experience affidavit or other document relating to a license application 
provides cause for a civil penalty of up to $10,000 as well as the suspension or revocation of the license(s) of any person involved in such a submission. 
*Name of Engineer or Manager (required)  License Number or Title (required) Work Telephone Number  

 
 

Employer Name – where building is located.  (required) Employer Address – where building is located. (required)  

City State Zip Code 

*This affidavit must be completed by a Chief Engineer, 1st Class Engineer, 2nd Class Engineer or by a Manager.   
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me on the  _____________day of   , in the year 20  ___ 
 
by     

(*Signature of chief engineer, 1st class engineer, 2nd class engineer or manager) 
 

Signed    
(Notary Public) (Stamp) 

The information provided on this form is used to determine if the applicant meets the license requirements.  The requested information is required to process the 
license application.  Failure to provide the requested information may delay the processing of license application or may be grounds for denying your application. 
Under M.S. § 13.41, the information that is provided on this form, except for the applicant’s name and address, is private data while the application is pending. 
Disclosure of this information to others may occur as authorized or required by law, including the Attorney General’s Office, the Department of Revenue, the 
Department of Human Services, and/or for the purpose of verification and investigation.  Once the applicant is licensed, the information becomes public data and 
will be part of the agency’s permanent records. 
 
This material can be made available in different formats, such as large print, braille or on audio. 



Instructions for CC0511 Boiler Engineer License Affidavit   

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division 
Licensing and Certification Services 
443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN  55155 
 
Mailing Address: 
PO Box 64219  
St. Paul, MN 55164-0219 
 
E-mail: dli.license@state.mn.us 
Web Site:  www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp  
Directions: http://www.dli.mn.gov/Direct.asp 
Phone:  (651) 284-5031 

 
 
 

Instructions for Completing the 
Boiler Affidavit 

 
The original affidavit(s) must be fully completed in ink, notarized and returned to our office with the appropriate exam fees and 
application. The applicant should retain a copy for his/her personal records. 

 
EXAM fees are NONREFUNDABLE and are good for one year from notification letter.  Make sure that your 
affidavit(s) are complete and accurate in showing your actual boiler operating experience. No credit can be given for the time 
that is not verified by your affidavit(s). Affidavit(s) must cover the minimum time requirement for the license applied for. 

 
Affidavits must be filled out by your previous employers and/or your current employer, indicating the amount of time served as 
an operating engineer, as defined in Minnesota Rules, Chapter 5225. 

 
MINNESOTA RESIDENTS M AY ONLY CLAIM OPERATING EXPERIENCE GAINED WHILE THE APPLICANT HAD A 
VALID LICENSE 

 
Military or Maritime service does not require the completion of an affidavit. You may submit your DD214(s) or documentation 
from military or maritime service verifying actual operating experience. For additional information regarding military or maritime 
documented experience, please contact our office at (651) 284-5031. 

 
 

Below is an example of an entry on a boiler affidavit in which the applicant would be qualified to take a 1C examination: 
STEAM BOILER PLANT 
Total Horsepower 

 
15 

Maximum W orking Pressure (psi)
 

15 

From
Month Day Year 
06 01    2016 

TO  (must have end date) 
Month Day Year 

06 01     2017 
 

NOTES: 
 
 Do not use manufacturers horsepower ratings.  For Licensing purposes, 10 square feet of heating surface = One Boiler Horsepower, or 

if H.S. cannot be discerned, 67,000 btu/hr input = One Boiler Horsepower.  Reference rule 5225.1000.  For high pressure A or B 
licenses, one year is equal to 2000 hours, reference rule 5225.0550, Subp. 10.  Minnesota Residents: may only claim operating 
experience gained while the applicant had a valid license. 
 

 Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326B.082, subd. 11(b)(2), submission of a false or misleading experience affidavit or other document relating 
to a license application provides cause for a civil penalty of up to $10,000 as well as the suspension or revocation of the license(s) of 
any person involved in such a submission 

 
APPLICATION: 

 
 All fields must be fully completed, signed and notarized. 

 
 Exam application fee may be submitted via online at www.dli.mn.gov, by check or money order payable to Department of Labor 

and Industry. Please do not send cash. 
 

AFFIDAVITS: 
 
 Must be signed and notarized properly with a current commission expiration date. 

 
 All pertinent fields must be fully completed. 

 
 This affidavit should be completed and signed by the Chief Engineer of the Plant.  If there is not a Chief Engineer at the 

location the affidavit may be completed and  signed by an individual possessing a 1st Class, 2nd Class or Managing Employer. 
 
 Must complete total operating experience in one of the following categories: Steam Boiler Plant, Hot Water Boiler Plant; 

Steam Engines/Steam Turbines or High Pressure Hours.  Note: Make sure total hours are recorded. 
 

 Required total amount of time shown with specific dates of employment indicated. 
 
 All licenses with the exception of a Special Engineer license require submission of both an exam application and 

affidavit(s). 
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