Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Water conditioning contractor license renewal

Registered unlicensed water conditioning installer

Anyone who performs water conditioning work in Minnesota must be licensed by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry or registered as a registered unlicensed plumber or water conditioning installer. The fee for an initial registration as a registered unlicensed water conditioning installer is $14. Registrations expire June 30 and must be renewed annually. A $5 late fee is assessed on all registration renewals received after June 30.

A registered unlicensed water conditioning installer is eligible to take the journeyworker water conditioning license exam after he or she has attained 875 hours of practical water conditioning installing, servicing or training experience as a registered unlicensed water conditioning installer employed by a licensed plumbing contractor or water conditioning contractor. An individual may receive credit for up to 100 hours of work experience gained prior to becoming registered as long as the work experience occurred within 12 months of the individual becoming registered.

All water conditioning work performed by an unlicensed water conditioning installer must be performed under the direct on-site supervision of a licensed journeyworker or master plumber, restricted journeyworker or restricted master plumber, or a licensed journey worker or master water conditioning worker.


Fee reductions, continuous bond and streamlined online renewal among changes for 2015 business license renewal

  • Water conditioning contractor license renewal fee has dropped from $206.80 to $168.
  • New continuous bond means contractors won’t have to submit a new bond to DLI every two years.
  • New online business renewal process eliminates most paperwork.

All current water conditioning contractor licenses expire Dec. 31, 2015, and DLI is currently accepting license renewal applications. Instructions for renewing water conditioning contractor licenses are provided below.

Online renewal

  • Our updated online renewal process allows you to renew your business license without having to submit several paper forms.
  • You can now review the information DLI has on file for your company, make changes and pay the renewal fee, all online.
  • Renewal fees cannot be paid over the telephone.
  • Your original bond forms will still have to be mailed to DLI.
  • If DLI does not have current liability insurance information for your company, you will need to submit a current insurance certificate (PDF). Insurance certificates can be sent via email to DLI.license@state.mn.us.

License bond is now continuous

  • Changes to licensing laws in 2015 mean bonds required for water conditioning contractors are to be continuous.
  • The new bond you submit with the upcoming renewal is presumed to be valid until DLI receives a cancellation notice from the surety (bonding) company.
  • This means that after you successfully submit a new bond with this renewal, you will not have to submit a new bond to DLI when you renew your license in the future.
  • The amount of the bond is also cumulative, which means there will be $3,000 in coverage for each two year license term.

Secretary of State filing

  • To renew your license, your corporate, LLC or assumed name filing with the Secretary of State must be up-to-date.
  • On all renewal forms, especially your bond and insurance certificates, your business name must appear EXACTLY as it is filed with the Secretary of State.
  • Check the status of your Secretary of State filing here and update it if necessary.
    • Your license cannot be renewed if your Secretary of State filing is inactive!
  • If you have changed your business structure (going from a sole proprietorship to an LLC or corporation, or from a corporation to an LLC), you will need to apply for a new license for your new business entity.

Paper renewal

Bond issues

To ensure that your renewal is processed without delay, please review these items relating to the $3,000 surety bond that is required to be submitted to DLI:


  • The notary public must verify the signature of your company's owner or officer in the appropriate "Acknowledgment of Principal" section on the second page of the bond form (Section A for individual proprietors, partnerships and LLCs, or Section B for corporations -- Section C must be completed by the surety company):


  • A power of attorney form completed by the bonding company must be attached to the bond.

 New license, certification and registration fees effective July 1, 2017 (PDF).


Contact DLI's licensing staff at (651) 284-5034 or send an e-mail to DLI.license@state.mn.us.

Please Note: The Department of Labor and Industry does not accept cash as payment for licenses, inspections, copy requests and other DLI services. Accepted methods of payment include checks, money orders and electronic payments that can be made through the DLI website.

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer