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Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
800-342-5354 (press 3)

WID NUMBER or SSN DATE OF INJURY EMPLOYEE NAME 

PENALTY NUMBER INSURER’S CLAIM NUMBER 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 

VS. 

EMPLOYER 

AND 
INSURER 

OBJECTION TO PENALTY 
ASSESSMENT

Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2870 PENALTY OBJECTION AND HEARING states:  “A party to whom notice of assessment has 
been issued may object to the penalty assessment by filing a written objection with the division on the form prescribed by the 
commissioner. The objection must also be served on the employee if the penalty is payable to the employee. The objection 
must be filed and served within 30 days after the date the notice of assessment was served on that party by the division
[emphasis added]. The written objection must contain a detailed statement explaining the legal or factual basis for the objection 
and including any documentation supporting the objection. Upon receipt of a timely objection, unresolved issues shall be 
referred for a hearing to determine the amount and conditions of any penalty. Objections which are not served and filed within 
the 30-day objection period must be dismissed by a compensation judge.” 

The above-named Employer/Insurer objects to the following portion of the Notice of Assessment of Penalty filed in this matter 
and requests that this matter be set for hearing.  

1) Additional award to the Employee (M.S. § 176.225)
2) Payment to the Assigned Risk Safety Account (M.S. § 176.221, subd. 3 or 3a)
3) Penalty for failure to file required report (M.S. § 176.231, subd. 10)
4) Other, please explain:

Detailed statement/documentation to support your objection (M.R. 5220.2870): (Attached additional sheets as necessary.) 

Objection to Penalty Assessment filed by: Filing party is 
NAME 

Employer 

COMPANY NAME 
Insurer 

ADDRESS 
Attorney 

CITY STATE ZIP 
Other_____________________________ 

TELEPHONE 

C E 0 0 0 3

Department of Labor and Industry
Note
Enter dates without slashes if you are filling this in on screen.

To close this note, click the "x" in the yellow bar.



PROOF OF SERVICE 
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

ss. 

COUNTY OF ____________ 

I, ________________________________________________________, being first duly sworn, depose and state that on 

__________________, 20___, I served a true and correct copy of the enclosed document upon all interested parties to this 

objection, with postage prepaid, in the United States mail at ____________________, _______________, addressed as follows: 
(City)     (State) 

SEND ORIGINAL TO: 
Compliance Services 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road N. 
St. Paul, MN  55155 

SEND COPIES TO: 
(Provide Names and Addresses) 

Employer (if objection filed by Insurer, or other party): Other parties (if applicable): 

Insurer (if objection filed by Employer, or other party): 

Employee (if applicable): 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 

this ____ day of ________________, 20___. 

___________________________________ ______________________________________________ 
Notary Public Signature 
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