m DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Inpatient hospital payments

This document contains general information. It is not legal advice. Every situation is different and other laws
might apply to your situation. If you have questions, contact an attorney, visit the Department of Labor and
Industry website at www.dli.mn.qov/business/workers-compensation-businesses or call the workers’
compensation hotline at 800-342-5354 and press 3.

MS-DRG guidelines

e The maximum reimbursement for inpatient hospital services, articles and supplies is 200 percent of the
amount calculated for each hospital under the PC Pricer program.

e Effective Jan. 1 through Dec. 31, 2016, inpatient bills greater than $175,000.00 are paid at 75 percent of
the hospital’s usual and customary charge.

e Effective Jan. 1 through Sept. 30, 2017, inpatient bills greater than $183,523.00 are paid at 75 percent of
the hospital’s usual and customary charge.

e Effective Oct. 1, 2017, through Sept. 30, 2018, inpatient bills greater than $196,021.00 are paid at 75
percent of the hospital’s usual and customary charge.

e Reimbursement for inpatient stays at critical access hospitals is 100 percent of the hospital’s usual and
customary amount.

Within 30 days of receipt of the hospital’s bill the payer must:

e pay the bill at 200 percent of the MS-DRG amount with no reductions; or
e deny payment for the entire hospitalization for one of the following reasons:
— the patient’s workers’ compensation injury claim is denied,
— the hospitalization is unrelated to the admitted work injury or
— the hospitalization is not reasonably required to cure or relieve the effects of the work injury.

The 30-day count is not extended pending receipt of itemization or additional information if:

e the hospital submitted charges electronically (8371);

e an MS-DRG applies to the hospitalization; and

e the hospital’s total charge is less than $196,021.00 from Oct. 1, 2017, through Sept. 30, 2018 (less than
$183,523.00 from Jan. 1 through Dec. 31, 2017, or less than $175,000.00 from Jan. 1 through Dec. 31,
2016).

Online resources

e Hospital information
https://data.medicare.gov/Hospital-Compare/Hospital-General-Information/xubh-q36u
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http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation-businesses
https://data.medicare.gov/Hospital-Compare/Hospital-General-Information/xubh-q36u

Minnesota Statutes § 176.1362, Inpatient hospital payment
WWwWWw.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.1362

Minnesota Rules 5221.0600, Payer responsibilities
www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=5221.0600

Minnesota Statutes § 176.135

WWW.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.135

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Workers’ Compensation Division
www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation-businesses

Minnesota Administrative Uniformity Committee (AUC) 835 companion guide — Appendix B
www.health.state.mn.us/auc/guides/docs/cg835.pdf

PC Pricer tool
www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-pc-pricer-tool-inpatient-hospital-bills

November 2017


http://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.1362
http://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=5221.0600
http://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.135
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation-businesses
http://www.health.state.mn.us/auc/guides/docs/cg835.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-pc-pricer-tool-inpatient-hospital-bills

	Inpatient hospital payments
	MS-DRG guidelines
	Online resources


